We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes folks, it's ON the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11743 Termini- San Luis Pass Road, (Farm Road 3005), Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly Galveston on the Gulf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card!
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yes folks, it's ON the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I felt sorry for people who stayed in "beachfront" hotels on the seawall. Looked like some of them had great views from their balconies but so scary when they had to cross a road of 4 lane busy traffic to actually get to the beach.
This hotel is on the beach, literally. Go down a boardwalk from the pool area or down a sandy path and you are there! It's not a private beach exculsive to the hotel, but that was okay. I met some friendly people walking from nearby rental homes. This beach was NOT crowded either. Probably because the hotel is away from the main cluster of tourist stuff which is nice. We drove out twice a day to eat and/or see attractions and it's not a bad drive at all - maybe 10 min or less; just not walking distance. And it was nice to come back "home" to a quieter area.
We went to Walmart and got food so we could do some of our meals at the hotel since it had a little kitchenette. And while at Walmart, might I recommend getting some boogie boards for fun in the waves and also a small sack of cheap dry dog food. This we used to feed seagulls on our beach; better than bread. I also recommend going after dark down to the sand dunes with a flashlight where you can look for and surprise the crabs.
Our suite was very clean and spacious enough. My husband and I took the bedroom. The teens liked having their own space in the form of a comfy pullout couch in the living room and their own tv. You can check out DVD's and games. Liked having a washer/dryer right outside our door. I liked that there were two entry doors to get to your room; that felt like extra security. From the hallway, the first door opened onto a little foyer which then had three doors: the washer/dryer and two suites. Our balcony was pretty tiny but good enough for two people- 3 or 4 could squeeze in. Nice view of the ocean!
The pool and hot tub were clean and pretty. Staff was very friendly.
You might not always nab one for yourself, but there is some covered parking. We usually managed to get a covered parking spot. Parking lot is very close and convenient to elevators. Have fun finding the check in/lobby. That's a bit of a puzzle at first but you will figure it out. There is a sign clearly stating where to go.
It was quiet and peaceful at night. The pool closed at 10.
Great experience - I recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    105
    23
    15
    7
See reviews for
140
95
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We just got back from a week at this Holiday Inn. We had a great stay. Our room was very clean. We had a great view of the ocean even though it is not considered a full front ocean view. The hotel is right on the beach. Unlike the other hotels in Galveston, you do NOT have to cross the four lane road called Seawall Blvd to get to the beach. Since maid service during your stay is a choice, my only recommendation is to give the rooms more trash bags for the kitchen and more toilet paper for the bath. I had to go to the front desk to get more during our stay. The view of the gulf is wonderful from the pool. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here for first time for a long weekend with a few kids. The facility is nice and new. The front desk staff is very friendly. (Thanks for finding the blue swim shirt Sandy!) There is an activities room where they have games and movies. The 1 bedroom had a kitchen, but the room was smaller than we expected. The property is not huge /chaotic and is directly on beach, quite a rarity in Galveston. The property is a little out of the way as it is 5 miles west of town / Walmart. The fitness center is nice and overlooks pool, the basketball court is lame as it is in the parking lot (and was totally broken when we were there). While not the property's fault, the seaweed was Horrible 1st of June. There is no restaurant, but they have some snacks etc. Pool is infinity and hot tub is nice. Washer and drier shared by 2 units. Overall good place!

Room Tip: East side units closer to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here on our vacation last week. Things I loved about this hotel 1. Staff was super friendly 2. It was on the beach (if you've ever been to Galveston you'll realize this isn't the norm) 3. The room was really nice, we had a separate bedroom with a queen size bed (that's right parents a bedroom with a door) then there was a comfy pull out couch in the living room. Then there was a fully equipped kitchen. We picked up breakfast and lunch stuff our first day and just ate there for both of those meals. 4. The pool was probably the cleanest hotel pool I've ever seen and it had a little splash shelf for the little ones to play on so they weren't always on the steps of the pool 5. Washer and dryer in unit

A couple of things to think about (not really negatives but might be important for some people): 1. This is fairly far out of town. If you want to go out to eat you are going to have to drive into town but it's not a far drive 5-10 minutes (might be a bit more during heavy tourist season as Seawall tends to get backed up). There is a little mini-mart in the hotel but not sure what the prices are like. 2. Room service does not come in during your stay so if you stay more than a few days you'll have to wash your own towels but they give you all the detergent and stuff to do that. 3. It isn't a private beach the hotel shares that section of the beach with a park so there will be more people there than what's at the hotel but the park is kept up well and I didn't see loads of trash on the beach or anything.

We really enjoyed our stay and I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We just returned from a 4 day stay here and quite enjoyed our stay. The room we stayed in was a queen with a pullout sofa. We had room 46 B which has a small balcony with half pool and half ocean view.

The room quality and decor was up to date and nice. Our room had two flat screen tvs with cable, and the living room tv had a dvd player.Our 1 bedroom had a bedroom with queen bed, bathroom, a pullout sofa in a combo living room/kitchen. The rooms are condos where you do your own cleaning and laundry if needed as well as dishes in provided dishwasher.

They are not hotel rooms with a lobby and daily maid service unless needed for an extra fee. You also take out your own trash and pick up after yourself unlike a normal hotel room where maid service cleans, does linens etc. I only mention this because some may not know this if they see the name Holiday Inn and are used to the normal daily hotel services, lobby restaurant, bar etc.

We enjoyed having a washer and dryer and didn't mind using the dishwasher to clean the provided dishes, glasses ,coffee cups etc that we used. It was actually quite nice having a full kitchen and washer/dryer to wash and dry beach towels and clothing or even bath towels if needed.

Provided kitchen items included , pots and pans for cooking, dinnerware, microwave, toaster oven, coffee maker ,blender , decent size refrigerator with ice maker , dishwasher as well as , outside grills all helped us keep our dining costs down close to what we would have spent at home.

Laundry and dish washing detergent was provided and made it nice to not have to buy them or haul them home. All linens , blankets , bedding and towels are provided and clean when you arrive and as stated if need changed daily will be washed by you.

Pretty much the only things you will need to bring are normal vacation clothing and food you will want to prepare or of course you can eat out daily. You also will need your own beach towels as provided towels aren't supposed to be taken out of the hotel or pool area.

As far as location on the island we loved it. The hotel is right on the gulf and has a nice wooden walkway over a couple small dunes to the beach and the beach is free of trash you may see closer to the seawall and is much less crowded. It is probably a 4 mile drive to get into the seawall, restaurant, bar part of galveston. Its not really within walking distance.

During our stay it was windy and made for fairly rough water in the ocean but the beach area has a gentle slope and makes entry easy. There was also a lot of seaweed on the beach due to the wind and waves pushing it up on land. This is of course just part of nature and the waves made for fun boogie boarding and playing in the water if you like waves.

All property staff was super including the desk and maintenance staff we encountered. Sandy at the front desk is super sweet and helpful.

If I had to improve anything about the property it would be just a few places on the walks and around the pool that had algae on the walkways and I would like to see the pool be a little clearer. The rest of the property inside and out was very nice.

We definately would recommend staying here to anyone wanting a nice place right on the beach a little away from town and the crowds with a little bit quieter beaches.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here on our vacation last week. Things I loved about this hotel 1. Staff was super friendly 2. It was on the beach (if you've ever been to Galveston you'll realize this isn't the norm) 3. The room was really nice, we had a separate bedroom with a queen size bed (that's right parents a bedroom with a door) then there was a comfy pull out couch in the living room. Then there was a fully equipped kitchen. We picked up breakfast and lunch stuff our first day and just ate there for both of those meals. 4. The pool was probably the cleanest hotel pool I've ever seen and it had a little splash shelf for the little ones to play on so they weren't always on the steps of the pool 5. Washer and dryer in unit

A couple of things to think about (not really negatives but might be important for some people): 1. This is fairly far out of town. If you want to go out to eat you are going to have to drive into town but it's not a far drive 5-10 minutes (might be a bit more during heavy tourist season as Seawall tends to get backed up). There is a little mini-mart in the hotel but not sure what the prices are like. 2. Room service does not come in during your stay so if you stay more than a few days you'll have to wash your own towels but they give you all the detergent and stuff to do that. 3. It isn't a private beach the hotel shares that section of the beach with a park so there will be more people there than what's at the hotel but the park is kept up well and I didn't see loads of trash on the beach or anything.

We really enjoyed our stay and I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here a couple of months ago with the kids before I moved on island. We had a two bedroom , two bath villa. The girl who checked me in Victoria was amazing and very helpful with information. She gave the best customer service I have experienced in a while at any Galveston location. I am a hotel manager myself and this girl wowed me. She joked and laughed with me and my grandson when we down to get complimentary movies that they offer to all guests, pretty good selection too. I know many people said they did not like the way you have to go up to check in, but I found office just fine and my room after directions given at check in with no problem. My room was on backside, I never heard other guests, could see the ocean from my wonderful balcony. Another plus, even though very windy because it is right on beach are the screen son balcony doors. I left my door open with screen closed to keep bugs and gulls out and went to sleep listening to beautiful waves! Everything was in good repair and we had a great time. All staff was helpful, and always smiled and offered assistance, but Victoria did stand out. She is a jewel in the industry and a true beacon of hospitality. I am glad I am on the island now, but if my kids come or anyone else, I will send them there! It is a bot down Seawall and I recommend making the grocery stop before arribpval unless you are planning on going right back out. I loved that there wasn't all the busy traffic of Seawall yet right on beach. Pool and hot tub are great, volleyball and many other ammonites, free wifi that works great. No onsite restaurant or bar, but the kitchen has blenders and full frig, so stock up and bring your food and drinks and enjoy a wonderful time at the perfect place. Thank you all for wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors are always better as far as I am concerned. Remember there is no housekeeping until en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort

Address: 11743 Termini- San Luis Pass Road, (Farm Road 3005), Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly Galveston on the Gulf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#3 Family Hotel in Galveston
#12 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort offers a wonderfully relaxing experience for couples and families alike. This quiet beachfront resort is located on the Texas Gulf coast south near the historic port city of Galveston. The city is a charming, Victorian-era treasure filled with authentic period architecture and strong echoes of the 1800s. Set away from the bustle of downtown, you'll enjoy villa accommodations with fully equipped kitchens, living and dining areas, plus free Wi-Fi internet access. All villas feature private balconies overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. The heated, outdoor infinity-edge pool and large hot tub offer direct, waterfront beach access and a new recreation area. Kids enjoy half-court basketball, shuffleboard court, beach volleyball and tetherball, while you'll love the fitness center available to guests 24/7 and picnic areas for outdoor dining. A small Marketplace store is available for guest convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escapes! To The Gulf At Galveston Hotel Galveston
Escapes To The Gulf Galveston
Escapes Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.