We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay, great room, perfect location for me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11743 Termini- San Luis Pass Road, (Farm Road 3005), Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly Galveston on the Gulf)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Houston, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay, great room, perfect location for me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed in a 4th floor suite facing the east with a view of the beach. We could see the Moody Gardens pyramids and The Pleasure Pier from our room. The room had a queen size fold out couch that was comfortable and a King bed in the bedroom. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. If we had need of anything for the kitchen, any games, or videos we could borrow or rent from the office. The room was quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was huge and had a jetted tub and large shower. They even provided beach towels and sand buckets. The hotel is located right on the beach with direct access, very convenient. The beach is one of the nicer ones I've been to in the area. Highly recommended, it is within a 15 min drive (or less depending on traffic) of the Pleasure Pier, Moody Gardens and The Strand (20 mins). The only negative was the coffee. If you like coffee bring your own. The stuff provided is horrible.

Room Tip: All the rooms have an ocean view. Our balcony was kind of akwardly angled, but we still enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    92
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
131
82
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Harrison, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

First, I understand this is a time share and you get what you get, even if you are a Priority Club member such as myself.
That said, it is a good thing I was traveling alone, because the room was pretty small. The bedroom was in the back, no window, dark as a cave. Balcony was small but adequate. I was on the east side. This is OK but next time, if I an unable to get something directly facing the beach, I'm going to go elsewhere.
If you are on a working vacation and need reliable internet, good luck. It is spotty.
The staff was nice.
Overall, OK but nothing really special, in my opinion. At least not the accommodations I had.
I do like Galveston and want to find someplace else next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review your recent business stay with us. While we are a traditional timeshare property, we enjoy welcome guests who visit us for many different reasons. We always encourage our guests to let us know of any needs or issues that they encounter during their stay, as we want to help ensure that you have the best vacation experience possible. We have heard our guests thoughts regarding the internet strength, and are proud to be making that change. We would love to have the opportunity to host you again, to show you how much fun staying with us can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were in the Houston area for an extended period and chose this property for a 10 night stay after reading the many positive reviews on TripAdvisor. The major plus point for us was that it was right on the beach--you can take the elevator from your room and be on the beach in minutes, only having to pass through the pool area to get there. This section of beach was mostly deserted even at the weekend, and swimming was a delight.

We had issues with our first room (water on the floor) and the manager (Helen) and her staff were great. Looked at the issue and moved us to another room within a couple of hours. This is what hotels ought to do but rarely do. Super service.

The rooms were quiet and very comfortable, with a lovely bed and very clean. The pool is not heated at the time of year we were there but was bearable to swim. The hot tub is excellent.

There is a good library of DVD's and books for loan and we took advantage of both.

The only area to improve would be the internet speed. it is very slow generally and if you need to do anything meaningful online it will be a challenge.

All in all this is a great place to stay and only a short drive outside the town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up on the east side of the property as near the ocean as possible. Get lovely m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello and welcome home from your 10 day stay with us. Nothing makes us happier than hearing from our guests how they enjoyed their vacation stays with us. You give a great overview of what guests can expect from a stay with us. We do apologize for the issues that you experienced during your stay, and we appreciate you letting our staff know right away so that we can help you have the best vacation experience possible. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We decided to stay in Galveston for a couple days after our cruise...to extend our vacation a little. We were glad we did. Galveston was great to visit, with Houston a short drive away. We did not want to stay in a "mediocre" or just "average" hotel. The room was well maintained and VERY clean. It had a fully furnished kitchen, washer and dryer, huge bathroom with whirlpool tub, and a king bed. It had an awesome balcony with a beach view. Everything was great. When we go back, we will book here without hesitation.

There are other Holiday Inn properties in Galveston, but they are not nearly as nice and quiet as this one. Be careful when booking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi there and welcome home from your recent stay with us. We’re so happy to have been able to host you for your extended vacation. We’re so happy that we were able to offer you everything that you were looking for. We thank you so much for your recommendation, and we hope to see you back again soon for more vacation fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My two young girls and I went on a Spring Break Weekend. The girls enjoyed the hot tub but unfortunately the pool was not heated so they could not swim. They did take advantage of the tether ball and volleyball, however, and thoroughly enjoyed both.
I was impressed with the cleanliness and size of the room and I liked the location of the hotel. I enjoyed the fact that it was off the main strip and on the beach. The beach was clean at the time.
The only thing I was disappointed in was the view. They say that all the rooms have a gulf View and this is true, however, when I had spoken to the front desk I was under the impression the view faced the gulf directly. It was a corner room in the front (E31) and the view of the gulf (and amazing sunset) was blocked by two homes. If you want a full view, I would request a different room.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and we all had a wonderful time. I would definitely stay there again.
Also, I was impressed by the thickness of the mattress on the sofa bed-- very comfortable.

Room Tip: See main paragraph above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello and welcome home from your spring break getaway with us. We’re so happy to hear that you and your girls enjoyed your stay with us. It’s always nice to get away together and spend time reconnecting. We’re so happy that your daughters enjoyed the amenities in and around the resort. We appreciate your thoughts about our views, and we thank you for your input. We’re happy that our staff made your stay that much better, and we would love to welcome you back again anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownwood, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at several hotels in Galveston through the years, and this is now my favorite. It's ON the beach, not across the street. We loved having a full kitchen (better for us to not eat out every meal!). Wonderful pool and hot tub...very friendly and helpful staff...no complaints from me. We've stayed here twice and will again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Welcome home from your recent stay with us, it’s so great to hear that you had a great time. Nothing makes us happier than our guests having the best vacation experience possible. You couldn’t give us any higher compliment than a return stay, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherd, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just came back from this wonderful resort, my husband and I were so relaxed it literally drained our energy, guess we had too much stress from work and all. This place is a excellent getaway. The staff are very friendly and accomodating. The deluxe room has a full kitchen, whirlpool tub and a balcony overlooking the beach a great plus is watching the sunrise rising up over the ocean. Much like an apartment like the reviewer below has described. Resort is easy to find but it was confusing finding the check in lobby, which is located on the 1st floor. Housekeeping is an extra fee but you'll have everything you need in the rooms so if you are not lazy you can do things yourself if you need extra towels, trash bags, etc. just let someone know and the trash chutes are located next the elevator on each floor. Other than that, it's perfect. This is now our choice of stay whenever we are in Galveston. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIClubVacations, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Greetings, it’s so wonderful to hear that you were able to take the time you deserve to get away and relax. We appreciate you letting us know of your thoughts about check-in. You are correct that we are unlike a traditional hotel stay in some ways, and we find that our guests enjoy the added privacy that this allows them. We hope to see you back again soon for more fun and relaxation by the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort

Address: 11743 Termini- San Luis Pass Road, (Farm Road 3005), Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly Galveston on the Gulf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#4 Family Hotel in Galveston
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular, unobstructed views of sparkling turquoise waters from your private villa balcony are waiting for you at Galveston on the Gulf. Located on a Texas barrier island in the Gulf of Mexico, Galveston offers miles of beautiful, unspoiled beaches and a quiet location away from all the activity found further down the island.The tropical setting and relaxing atmosphere of the resort invites blissful relaxation for you and your family. Enjoy time together lounging by the oceanfront pool deck featuring a generous hot tub and heated infinity-edge pool that seems to stretch to the ocean. For the younger set, there’s a kiddie pool and of course, plenty of sandy beach and warm Gulf waters on your doorstep in which to play! And right next door is a public beachfront pavilion with facilities on an educational wetlands preserve.About 15 miles up the coast of the island you’ll find Postoffice Street in the Historic District, home to many tree-lined art galleries, coffee shops and over two-dozen historical buildings. Additionally, Gallery Row features antiques, collectibles and fine art, while Stand Avenue offers plenty of shopping, boutiques, festivals and nightlife. Great dining options can be found along the shore as well as downtown.With a wonderfully relaxing atmosphere, as well as a downtown historic district famous for its lovely 19th-century Victorian architecture, great restaurants and family attractions, there are plenty of reasons that make Galveston a popular family vacation destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escapes! To The Gulf At Galveston Hotel Galveston
Escapes To The Gulf Galveston
Escapes Galveston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.