We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Treasure Isle Tour Train

Treasure Isle Tour Train
2500 Seawall Boulevard, 25th and Seawall, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551
(409) 221-0282
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 52 Activities in Galveston
Attraction details
Kerrville, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We couldn't ask for a better introduction to Galveston. The duck tour might be more"thrilling" for kids, but this tram tour was very informative and we learned a lot about the city of Galveston. I'm glad we chose the Pink Tram!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    17
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had out of town guests and decided to go to Galveston for the day. I found Treasure Isle Tour Train had great online reviews so we went with it. This is time well spent. Everyone enjoyed the tour including our 6 year old who was not thrilled when he heard it was 1 1/2 tour. We enjoyed the history and sights. We are set up with a list now of places to go when we return to Galveston. Enjoyable with a witty tour guide to boot! Bring water or drinks along for the ride!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Grove, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“No Wheelchair Access”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We thought this train would have a way for a wheelchair to get on but we couldn't ride it because there wasn't any wheelchair accessiblity. I wish they would make this ride have wheelchair access.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyable and showed a lot that even regular visitors (like me) would probably miss. Even though I've lived in the Houston area for years and visit Galveston regularly, this was a pleasant, entertaining, and interesting tour with information that was totally new to me. Not for the kiddies - not enough physical activity to hold a kid's interest. Bright pink, open air tram cars allowed the fresh sea breeze to waft around us. Personable guide driving the jeep that pulled the tram cars; apparently, the original tram engine drowned in Hurricane Ike. This tour stimulated my interest more than the "duck-boat" tour. Well worth the fee. I would do this again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Historical Tour of Galveston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The tour is approximately an hour and a half and travels past many of the historical homes and sites throughout Galveston. I would recommend going on the tour early in one's trip to Galveston, because it could help visitors identify locations to visit more at length. My wife and I regretted not being aware of some of the historical spots when we still had time to visit them individually. Highly recommended tour.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treasure Isle Tour Train also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Treasure Isle Tour Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasure Isle Tour Train, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.