We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get ready for 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Port of Galveston

Port of Galveston
123 Rosenberg Drive, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
409 765 9321
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 88 things to do in Galveston
Attraction details
Whitney, TX
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Get ready for 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Rumor has it that Galveston is going to be the home port for several more cruise ships in 2012. Unless they do some serious work on handling embarkations and debarkations more rapidly it is going to be a disaster.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    34
    23
    12
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, TX
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun place, want to go back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

First time cruisers we got to see a lot but we want to see more, we will be back, just wish it wasn't such a long drive to get there. Lots of stuff to do, lots of fun to be had.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Well Organized Cruise Terminal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

Older but well maintained cruise terminal. There are many luggage porters available and very good security that keeps traffic moving. City owned parking lots (3) are about 2-3 blocks away and shuttle buses are provided. The lots are secure with high fencing all around. You must proceed to the terminal first to drop luggage and then go to parking lot and ride the shuttle back to terminal for cruise check in.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Loved the Mariner, hated the port.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Embarkation was easy though 2 different employees that we encountered had no idea what they were doing. Ended up standing in the check-in counter for 10 minutes even though all our paper work was finished. While people at other windows were going right passed us.

Disembarkation was even worse. We were one of the "lucky" ones who only had to wait an hour to get through customs. Some people on our cruise waited for 2 hours.

Doubtful we will sail out of Galveston again which is a shame since we loved the Mariner. Though I would tolerate it if I lived within close driving distance. We flew and could have just as easily flown into a Florida port.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Do You Believe in Magic?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Watched Carnival's newest & largest ship, Carnival Magic arrive in it's new homeport of Galveston & attended free Maroon 5 concert courtesy of Carnival Cruise Lines.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port of Galveston also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Port of Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port of Galveston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.