We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Train Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galveston Island Railroad Museum and Terminal

Galveston Island Railroad Museum and Terminal
2602 Santa Fe Place, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
409 765 5700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 39 Attractions in Galveston
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Baytown
1 review
“Train Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a wonderful way to show your little ones what a train is really like. More exciting than going to a movie, and cheaper, is this wonderful museum. Witness firsthand what life on a train is all about. Once you visit this museum you will see what it's all about. Hop on board a real railcar and go for a ride. This is no mall or zoo train. This train ride is real. So much fun.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    78
    26
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Princeton Junction, NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great time for the guys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

this is a nice getaway for the guys in the family. Unless you have a wife or daughter that is into trains. Nice bit of history. Great for younger kids becuase it is not huge and before they can get bored you are finshed. An easy way to spend an hour or two. Great location right off the strand. My 14 year old son loved going through the trains. Not very crowded so you can enjoy at your own pace.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giddings, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unusual and captivating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Train enthusiasts, Thomas the Tank Engine lovers and grandmother accompaniests all love the freely accessible trains of times past. On off days, you can pretend. My grandson stood up to kiss the front of the engine (ah, a moment). The mannequins are unusually captivating and you feel like you want to engage in conversation with them. Thanks to the museum for all of the work. We will have been back 3 times.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Museum if You Like Trains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I enjoyed my visit to this museum in December. There was an old train that could be gone into, and exhibits that included old train china that was beautiful I loved seeing the inside of this beautiful old train station. I am glad to see the building being retained and used.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Old train terminal”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was the old train station. Limited exhibits inside, but did not explore the outside exhibits due to time constraints.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galveston Island Railroad Museum and Terminal also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Galveston Island Railroad Museum and Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galveston Island Railroad Museum and Terminal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.