We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Old Fashioned Ice Cream Sodas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La King's Confectionery

La King's Confectionery
2323 Strand St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1517
409-762-6100
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 257 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Old Fashioned Ice Cream Sodas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Best old fashioned ice cream soda from a soda fountain I had since I was a kid in New York. I made a point of returning the next day since I found La King's to be a gem.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    296
    76
    20
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Sweet Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A combination ice-cream parlor and candy factory/store reminiscent of those old-fashioned shoppes from the 1920s. The atmosphere is sweet fun. You can even watch the homemade candy and fudge being made at various times in the rear of the building although I didn't look at the printed schedule they had posted. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best sweet treat in Galveston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

You must take time to visit La King's if you have a sweet tooth. This is my idea of an old fashion candy store with a sode counter, ice cream, watch them making fudge and taffy. Fun for the whole family.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop for sweets!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

On a VERY hot/ humid day in Galveston, my husband stopped in here for the cool air and something sweet. We certainly were not disappointed. We both had the coffee ice cream which was delicious. If chocolate is your thing, this is the place for you! They had at least 100 trays filled with chocolates & sweets of all kinds. The atmosphere is like an old time ice cream parlor and I would visit here again!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The sweets are average at best. The employees are nothing special. I would not walk back down the street for such poor service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La King's Confectionery also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to La King's Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La King's Confectionery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.