We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sweet treat in Galveston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La King's Confectionery

La King's Confectionery
2323 Strand St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1517
+1 409-762-6100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 263 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Description: Candy store, Coffee shop, Ice Cream Parlour, and Old Time Soda Fountain
Schertz, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best sweet treat in Galveston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

You must take time to visit La King's if you have a sweet tooth. This is my idea of an old fashion candy store with a sode counter, ice cream, watch them making fudge and taffy. Fun for the whole family.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    89
    24
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop for sweets!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

On a VERY hot/ humid day in Galveston, my husband stopped in here for the cool air and something sweet. We certainly were not disappointed. We both had the coffee ice cream which was delicious. If chocolate is your thing, this is the place for you! They had at least 100 trays filled with chocolates & sweets of all kinds. The atmosphere is like an old time ice cream parlor and I would visit here again!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The sweets are average at best. The employees are nothing special. I would not walk back down the street for such poor service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sweet Tooth Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Absolutely great place to visit. Everytime we are on the Strand we stop in and get enough to take home...Everything is good and the old school parlor atmosphere is great

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sundaes & Shakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

As a certified child at heart I was incredibly excited to get to La King's. My partner and I got there in time to watch the candy chef make one of my favourite treats - salt water taffy. However, it was quite chaotic and decided to go back on another day. On our second trip there the lines were more manageable and we were able to get a sundae and shake in a timely manner and a table to sit at to boot! The sundae was a perfect treat with a proper balance of fudge and creamy vanilla ice cream. Nick's shake was smooth and refreshing and enough for two. La King's serves many house made custom and traditional flavours, but we opted for a taste of classic vanilla. La
Kings also offers many classic candies and chocolates. La Kings allows the little kids and the big kid inside to come out and play.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La King's Confectionery also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to La King's Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La King's Confectionery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.