We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stop for sweets!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La King's Confectionery

La King's Confectionery
2323 Strand St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1517
409-762-6100
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 261 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Huntington, West Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop for sweets!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

On a VERY hot/ humid day in Galveston, my husband stopped in here for the cool air and something sweet. We certainly were not disappointed. We both had the coffee ice cream which was delicious. If chocolate is your thing, this is the place for you! They had at least 100 trays filled with chocolates & sweets of all kinds. The atmosphere is like an old time ice cream parlor and I would visit here again!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    83
    24
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The sweets are average at best. The employees are nothing special. I would not walk back down the street for such poor service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sweet Tooth Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Absolutely great place to visit. Everytime we are on the Strand we stop in and get enough to take home...Everything is good and the old school parlor atmosphere is great

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sundaes & Shakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

As a certified child at heart I was incredibly excited to get to La King's. My partner and I got there in time to watch the candy chef make one of my favourite treats - salt water taffy. However, it was quite chaotic and decided to go back on another day. On our second trip there the lines were more manageable and we were able to get a sundae and shake in a timely manner and a table to sit at to boot! The sundae was a perfect treat with a proper balance of fudge and creamy vanilla ice cream. Nick's shake was smooth and refreshing and enough for two. La King's serves many house made custom and traditional flavours, but we opted for a taste of classic vanilla. La
Kings also offers many classic candies and chocolates. La Kings allows the little kids and the big kid inside to come out and play.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx
Top Contributor
385 reviews 385 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
839 helpful votes 839 helpful votes
“Back to good old days with time machine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Since this old fashioned sweet shop is on the top of TA's rating, we decided to skip dessert at our lunch place and came here. We were not disappointed at all. It felt like we were visiting to a past time where food and desert are made from real milk and real sugar. I'm still struggling to understand why some people choose to drink tasteless 0% milk, rather than eating good food in moderation.
Here... there are awesome, rich homemade ice cream and icecream float, banana split, sundee all under the same roof. Other half of the place is filled with candies, taffy etc. (we didn't try those since we were quite full after lunch). Service is also great and only thing modern I can see in this place is a section for smooties!
- strawberry ice cream is really good. Not the cheapest one since 1 scoop is for 3.50$ (price is comparable to those small Ben and Jerry 1 pint cups) but this ice cream is as good as any premium ice cream you can have including B & J.
- Root beer float is also good (may be a popular item here).

I've been to many nostalgic ice cream/candy shops in US and Canada but this place could be the best I've been so far. It is also near popular cruise terminal and so, .... good business for them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La King's Confectionery also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to La King's Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La King's Confectionery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.