We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La King's Confectionery

La King's Confectionery
2323 Strand St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
+1 409-762-6100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Dessert in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Candy store, Coffee shop, Ice Cream Parlour, and Old Time Soda Fountain
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The sweets are average at best. The employees are nothing special. I would not walk back down the street for such poor service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Txdelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sweet Tooth Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Absolutely great place to visit. Everytime we are on the Strand we stop in and get enough to take home...Everything is good and the old school parlor atmosphere is great

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sundaes & Shakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

As a certified child at heart I was incredibly excited to get to La King's. My partner and I got there in time to watch the candy chef make one of my favourite treats - salt water taffy. However, it was quite chaotic and decided to go back on another day. On our second trip there the lines were more manageable and we were able to get a sundae and shake in a timely manner and a table to sit at to boot! The sundae was a perfect treat with a proper balance of fudge and creamy vanilla ice cream. Nick's shake was smooth and refreshing and enough for two. La King's serves many house made custom and traditional flavours, but we opted for a taste of classic vanilla. La
Kings also offers many classic candies and chocolates. La Kings allows the little kids and the big kid inside to come out and play.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx
Level Contributor
477 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 890 helpful votes
“Back to good old days with time machine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Since this old fashioned sweet shop is on the top of TA's rating, we decided to skip dessert at our lunch place and came here. We were not disappointed at all. It felt like we were visiting to a past time where food and desert are made from real milk and real sugar. I'm still struggling to understand why some people choose to drink tasteless 0% milk, rather than eating good food in moderation.
Here... there are awesome, rich homemade ice cream and icecream float, banana split, sundee all under the same roof. Other half of the place is filled with candies, taffy etc. (we didn't try those since we were quite full after lunch). Service is also great and only thing modern I can see in this place is a section for smooties!
- strawberry ice cream is really good. Not the cheapest one since 1 scoop is for 3.50$ (price is comparable to those small Ben and Jerry 1 pint cups) but this ice cream is as good as any premium ice cream you can have including B & J.
- Root beer float is also good (may be a popular item here).

I've been to many nostalgic ice cream/candy shops in US and Canada but this place could be the best I've been so far. It is also near popular cruise terminal and so, .... good business for them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bigboy61455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I love this store! There is more than enough to satisfy your sweet tooth! Ice cream, malts, floats, fountain sodas and so much candy to choose from. The salt water taffy is really good, bought the banana, watermelon and strawberry (all delicious). The milk chocolate pecan royal sand dollars and the dark chocolate cashew clusters are excellent! We will definitely return to try more on our next visit to Galveston!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 321Lisa321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La King's Confectionery also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to La King's Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing