We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sundaes & Shakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La King's Confectionery

La King's Confectionery
2323 Strand St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
+1 409-762-6100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Ice Cream in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Candy store, Coffee shop, Ice Cream Parlour, and Old Time Soda Fountain
Long Beach, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sundaes & Shakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

As a certified child at heart I was incredibly excited to get to La King's. My partner and I got there in time to watch the candy chef make one of my favourite treats - salt water taffy. However, it was quite chaotic and decided to go back on another day. On our second trip there the lines were more manageable and we were able to get a sundae and shake in a timely manner and a table to sit at to boot! The sundae was a perfect treat with a proper balance of fudge and creamy vanilla ice cream. Nick's shake was smooth and refreshing and enough for two. La King's serves many house made custom and traditional flavours, but we opted for a taste of classic vanilla. La
Kings also offers many classic candies and chocolates. La Kings allows the little kids and the big kid inside to come out and play.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    89
    24
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
xxx
Top Contributor
425 reviews 425 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
917 helpful votes 917 helpful votes
“Back to good old days with time machine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Since this old fashioned sweet shop is on the top of TA's rating, we decided to skip dessert at our lunch place and came here. We were not disappointed at all. It felt like we were visiting to a past time where food and desert are made from real milk and real sugar. I'm still struggling to understand why some people choose to drink tasteless 0% milk, rather than eating good food in moderation.
Here... there are awesome, rich homemade ice cream and icecream float, banana split, sundee all under the same roof. Other half of the place is filled with candies, taffy etc. (we didn't try those since we were quite full after lunch). Service is also great and only thing modern I can see in this place is a section for smooties!
- strawberry ice cream is really good. Not the cheapest one since 1 scoop is for 3.50$ (price is comparable to those small Ben and Jerry 1 pint cups) but this ice cream is as good as any premium ice cream you can have including B & J.
- Root beer float is also good (may be a popular item here).

I've been to many nostalgic ice cream/candy shops in US and Canada but this place could be the best I've been so far. It is also near popular cruise terminal and so, .... good business for them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I love this store! There is more than enough to satisfy your sweet tooth! Ice cream, malts, floats, fountain sodas and so much candy to choose from. The salt water taffy is really good, bought the banana, watermelon and strawberry (all delicious). The milk chocolate pecan royal sand dollars and the dark chocolate cashew clusters are excellent! We will definitely return to try more on our next visit to Galveston!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went here twice on our visit to Galveston. If you have a sweet tooth this place is amazing! So many candy options and they also have ice cream/ shakes. Will definitely be going here again when we go back to Galveston!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Very cool place had a root beer float it was off the chain!also the candy is made in front of you,very fresh and tasty!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La King's Confectionery also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to La King's Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La King's Confectionery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.