We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La King's Confectionery

La King's Confectionery
2323 Strand St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1517
+1 409-762-6100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 263 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Description: Candy store, Coffee shop, Ice Cream Parlour, and Old Time Soda Fountain
Whitehouse, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went here twice on our visit to Galveston. If you have a sweet tooth this place is amazing! So many candy options and they also have ice cream/ shakes. Will definitely be going here again when we go back to Galveston!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    89
    24
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Very cool place had a root beer float it was off the chain!also the candy is made in front of you,very fresh and tasty!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for sweets. The taffee is excellent and worth the stop. My wife and her friend got a chocolte malt and it was okay. Will go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulphur, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“YUMMY/ Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We so enjoyed our visit to this place. Very interesting how they make taffy. Even if you have seen it being made before, go see it again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW Area
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“As Good as My Childhood Memories!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

And even better, because now I can't eat sugar....so, what do you get there? I purchased some sugar free chocolates and they were the best I have had in some time. Eat them within a few days, though, because they're truly fresh and will lose some flavor and texture over time.

My daughter enjoyed an ice cream cone, my mother had a chocolate soda and my husband finished a massively large chocolate shake. They all enjoyed their treats immensely. My son purchased some taffy and also fruit wedges. All were devoured quickly. The staff, for the most part, is friendly and patient; Jennifer especially.

Beware of crowds when a cruise ship is in port, but well worth the visit. It could only have been better if they were making candy at the time. Otherwise, one of the highlights of our visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La King's Confectionery also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to La King's Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La King's Confectionery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.