We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La King's Confectionery

La King's Confectionery
2323 Strand St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1517
409-762-6100
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 257 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
North Richland Hills, Texas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A must visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

No trip to Galveston is complete unless you visit this place on The Strand. They have lots of sweets to choose from. On those hot summer days try a root beer float.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    79
    23
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“ice cream = deliciousness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

it's crowded and noisy inside, but that just means it's really good. I got a frozen yogurt ice cream and it tasted so rich, I thought I was eating a full fat ice cream. the pralines and other candies were very good too (so much for those calories I saved by eating the yogurt ice cream, right?) ENJOY!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great old fashioned candy store”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Store is located in The Strand area of Galveston. They are a very large candy store and old fashioned soda fountain. Great selection. Great candy. Lots of candy is made right there on site.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Highly recommend! Awesomeness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Pros: Delicious, beautiful, labeled. The specialty area had structure. Malts, shakes, sodas, and floats made the old-fashioned way. It is neat to watch the toffee being made at the candy shop. I appreciate how the confectionery has the items labeled with names and also prices. It is a beautiful shop.
Con: The ice cream counter was disorganized. We were the first there but were invisible to staff as others continued to be served immediately as they approached. My friend walked away in disgust... almost comical. What's up with that? It wasn't that crowded, but the ice cream counter staff looked half-asleep. This place rocks otherwise, and I plan to be back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Buren, Arkansas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome trip back to the old Soda Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our trip was amazing to this shop, we all had ice cream or root beer floats and then of course was able to watch the taffy pull. My kids thought that was the best thing ever. If you are ever in Galveston please make sure and stop by here your trip will not be complete without going.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La King's Confectionery also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to La King's Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La King's Confectionery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;