We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend! Awesomeness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La King's Confectionery

La King's Confectionery
2323 Strand St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
+1 409-762-6100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Ice Cream in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Candy store, Coffee shop, Ice Cream Parlour, and Old Time Soda Fountain
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Highly recommend! Awesomeness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Pros: Delicious, beautiful, labeled. The specialty area had structure. Malts, shakes, sodas, and floats made the old-fashioned way. It is neat to watch the toffee being made at the candy shop. I appreciate how the confectionery has the items labeled with names and also prices. It is a beautiful shop.
Con: The ice cream counter was disorganized. We were the first there but were invisible to staff as others continued to be served immediately as they approached. My friend walked away in disgust... almost comical. What's up with that? It wasn't that crowded, but the ice cream counter staff looked half-asleep. This place rocks otherwise, and I plan to be back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    99
    24
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Van Buren, Arkansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome trip back to the old Soda Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our trip was amazing to this shop, we all had ice cream or root beer floats and then of course was able to watch the taffy pull. My kids thought that was the best thing ever. If you are ever in Galveston please make sure and stop by here your trip will not be complete without going.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No trip to Galveston would be complete without a stop at La Kings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

It's super-crowded, and super-noisy, but an awesome place to visit. Just be prepared to make some tough decisions -- should you have some of their famous fudge? Or saltwater taffey make fresh on-site? Or ice cream? Or a milkshake? Or any one of the dozens and dozens of chocolates? Decisions, decisions ...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to bring small children!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have 2 small boys and this is a great place to bring them. Yummy candies and malt shop experience. A must do!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful old ice cream parlor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere was amazing at this old parlor! So adorable. Lots of families with kids. Great time! The ice cream was wonderful and so was the fudge! The ratings are obviously good here so there's not much to really say that hasn't already been said. I would absolutely come again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La King's Confectionery also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to La King's Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La King's Confectionery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.