We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are the King of Confections” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La King's Confectionery

La King's Confectionery
2323 Strand St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
+1 409-762-6100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Ice Cream in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Coffee & Tea, Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Candy store, Coffee shop, Ice Cream Parlour, and Old Time Soda Fountain
Conroe, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“They are the King of Confections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

La King's is a reminder of days past. When you walk through the doors, it's like you're stepping back in time to an old timey soda shop. Their confections range from old fashioned hand mixed sodas, shakes, floats, and malts to homemade candies. Their candies are all kinds of chocolate dipped things from white to dark: pecans, potato chips, cherries, Oreos, etc., and they also have home made taffy that they will stretch and pull as you watch. They have all kinds of gummies, fudge, and old timey lollipops, and they even have a large assortment of Blue Bell ice cream flavors.

They have pretty much anything a sweet tooth can desire, and it's all in a lovely setting of hard wood floors and heart-backed chairs located right on the strand on Galveston Island. It's one of my family's favorite places to go in Galveston to kick back and just have a fun time together. I recommend everyone go here at least once and remember what America used to be like.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    90
    24
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amaretto Almond Ice Cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Handcrafted ice creams--divine! Never made it to buy anything from candy counter but everything looked amazing. Very fun! Very nostalgic!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetwater, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Brought Back Memories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

When my friend and I walked into this delight for the eyes I felt a wave of memories. I took my now grown children there many times when they were small. The building has been restored after Hurricane Ike and is even more fun. I bought a huge bag of salt water taffy but was disappointed to find that it was hard not chewy. Perhaps I just got an overcooked batch. Just being inside and looking at everything was worth the time spent there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“You must have the lemonade or limeade!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

It is amazing and made fresh right in spot. Perfect every time and consistent on flavor. The fudge is amazing, my favorite is the peanut butter, but they are all great. Root beer floats are delicious and fountain drinks like I've never had. Staff is great, and some of them have been there a while. I love this place. I'd drink that lemonade every day if I could. I highly recommend this spot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Chocaholic Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Some of the best candies and fudge on the gulf coast! Fresh-made on the spot, good price, friendly staff, clean, interesting old building. A must-see/do when on the island.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La King's Confectionery also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to La King's Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La King's Confectionery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.