We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always makes for a great evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand 1894 Opera House

Grand 1894 Opera House
2020 Postoffice St., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
409/765-1894 or 800/821-1894
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 48 attractions in Galveston
Type: Operas
Attraction Details
Houston
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Always makes for a great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have been going to The Grand for over 20 years now. It is small enough so that there really aren't any bad seats. Parking is easy, tickets to shows are reasonable, lots of nice restaurants all around for a dinner and show evening. They have school performances for field trips also.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    24
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harker Heights, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great opera house!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stumbled across this beauty after having lunch. We wanted to have a looks and for 2 bucks you won't be disappointed. Every seat in this opera house is a good seat. The tickets are very reasonable as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Architecture!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We walked by here and my husband commented on the arch outside and we decided to go inside. Only cost $2/person to do a self-guided tour. The building is beautiful. We happened to be there when no one else was around, so we were able to take photos sitting in the balcony seats for our album. Overall, enjoyed the photo opportunity and would visit here again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This gorgeous old building was lovingly restored to its former grandeur. The volunteers are helpful and friendly. I promise you there are no bad seats within this opera house even if they offer a discount for "obstructed" views. The views are magnificent. If you get into a box seat, you get champagne with your tickets.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fun evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Opera House has been beautifully restored. We had tickets for an evening performance to see Jeanne Robertson, a comic. Our seats were on the third level so we were looking down at the stage. We could see and hear everything but if you are afraid of heights this is not the place to be. There are a lot of stairs and only one elevator that holds six people so I recommend you get to the theater at least 30 minutes early to avoid a wait if you must ride the elevator up. I thought it was well worth the price of the ticket to see a performance in the Opera House.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand 1894 Opera House also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Grand 1894 Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand 1894 Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.