We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great opera house!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand 1894 Opera House

Grand 1894 Opera House
2020 Postoffice St., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
409/765-1894 or 800/821-1894
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 62 Activities in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Operas, Theater & Concerts
Attraction details
Harker Heights, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great opera house!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stumbled across this beauty after having lunch. We wanted to have a looks and for 2 bucks you won't be disappointed. Every seat in this opera house is a good seat. The tickets are very reasonable as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    28
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Architecture!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We walked by here and my husband commented on the arch outside and we decided to go inside. Only cost $2/person to do a self-guided tour. The building is beautiful. We happened to be there when no one else was around, so we were able to take photos sitting in the balcony seats for our album. Overall, enjoyed the photo opportunity and would visit here again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This gorgeous old building was lovingly restored to its former grandeur. The volunteers are helpful and friendly. I promise you there are no bad seats within this opera house even if they offer a discount for "obstructed" views. The views are magnificent. If you get into a box seat, you get champagne with your tickets.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fun evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Opera House has been beautifully restored. We had tickets for an evening performance to see Jeanne Robertson, a comic. Our seats were on the third level so we were looking down at the stage. We could see and hear everything but if you are afraid of heights this is not the place to be. There are a lot of stairs and only one elevator that holds six people so I recommend you get to the theater at least 30 minutes early to avoid a wait if you must ride the elevator up. I thought it was well worth the price of the ticket to see a performance in the Opera House.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great shows!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The shows we have seen at The Grand have always been fun and family-friendly. You can visit their website, www.thegrand.com, for a full schedule. We just saw Jeanne Robertson and she was a real hoot!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand 1894 Opera House also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Grand 1894 Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand 1894 Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.