We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shows!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand 1894 Opera House

Grand 1894 Opera House
2020 Postoffice St., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
409/765-1894 or 800/821-1894
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 60 Activities in Galveston
Type: Operas, Theater & Concerts
Attraction details
Tulsa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great shows!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The shows we have seen at The Grand have always been fun and family-friendly. You can visit their website, www.thegrand.com, for a full schedule. We just saw Jeanne Robertson and she was a real hoot!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    27
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great Venue for Entertainment in Galveston!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have enjoyed numerous performances at the 1894 Opera House. We are seniors and most of the acts there appeal to us. Our top acts have been Neil Sedaka, Oakridge Boys and Sinbad. This venue is great for any type entertainment and you are very close to the action. Not a bad seat in the house!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
humble
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Evening out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I take my daughter and mother here. They have very good concerts and plays. The atmosphere is nice as well. A nice evening out.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Beautiful interior”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Interesting self-guided tour and you could stay as long as you wish, sitting in different areas of the theatre. Beautiful old building.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It is a beautiful building and the programs are always wonderful. We saw Lord of the Dance and it was great.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand 1894 Opera House also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Grand 1894 Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand 1894 Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.