We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Venue for Entertainment in Galveston!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand 1894 Opera House

Grand 1894 Opera House
2020 Postoffice St., Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Grand 1894 Opera House is a performing arts theatre presenting a year-round performance schedule. Performances include stars of stage and screen, music, dance, comedy, drama and more. The Grand is also available to rent for private events. The Grand 1894 Opera House is the official Opera House of the State of Texas as designated by the 73rd legislature. As an historic site, The Grand is also open Monday-Saturday from 9am-5pm for self-guided or guided tours. A fee is required for tours and guided tours require advance reservation. Group and senior rates may be available for some performances. To view The Grand's performance schedule, please visit The Grand online.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
156 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great Venue for Entertainment in Galveston!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have enjoyed numerous performances at the 1894 Opera House. We are seniors and most of the acts there appeal to us. Our top acts have been Neil Sedaka, Oakridge Boys and Sinbad. This venue is great for any type entertainment and you are very close to the action. Not a bad seat in the house!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcw0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
humble
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Evening out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I take my daughter and mother here. They have very good concerts and plays. The atmosphere is nice as well. A nice evening out.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank texasnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Beautiful interior”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Interesting self-guided tour and you could stay as long as you wish, sitting in different areas of the theatre. Beautiful old building.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank wilfridblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It is a beautiful building and the programs are always wonderful. We saw Lord of the Dance and it was great.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveler78552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Grand old Grand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

When I was a kid in the 50's the Grand had been turned into the State movie theater and as the years went by the poor old place just kept deteriorating. Finally wisdom was prevailed and the Grand was restored to its former glory and is now back the way I imagine it was when originally built. This is an especially good venue for any shows, concerts, etc ., because it is not too large so everyone gets a good seat (unless you get stuck behind a pillar). Well worth a visit to see your favorite artists perform on a stage where you don't need binoculars to see them.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jt093812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand 1894 Opera House also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Grand 1894 Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing