We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uggh...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
3502 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8846
409-766-1515
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 261 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Galveston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Uggh...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Over cooked seafood. No-one in the kitchen spoke english so I couldn't convey my problem. Prices are too high compared to all the other seafood places in town. Won't go back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    55
    32
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just another seafood chain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I typically avoid chain restaraunts at all costs but I went in with an open mind since I had never been to a Joe's Crab Shack. The menu had a lot to choose from. We had an appetizer with a mixture of fried foods, shrimp, crawfish, pickles, etc. the fried crawfish actually weren't too bad. They were lightly breaded and were tender. The rest wasn't anything special. We also tried a shrimp combo plate and it was ok but nothing too fantastic. Overall it was ok but nothing to rave about.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampasas, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The bar was great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We went to the Joes that is on the port of Galveston. The atmosphere is great and the people are super friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Overcooked”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We chose to have dinner here because it looked nice as we were driving by and we had been to one in Miami that was pretty good. This place was practically empty on a Friday night which should have been a heads up. We ordered crab legs which were seriously overcooked. Servings were small although the pictures on the menu make them look well served.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Delicious soups, appetizers and fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We sat out on the veranda. The view of the Galveston ship channel was right beside us. We watched pelicans and blue herons search for fish. The staff were friendly and each one seemed to check on us throughout our meal. All the food ordered by our group was really tasty.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.