We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have their own little twist to food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yaga's Tropical Cafe

Yaga's Tropical Cafe
2314 Strand St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-1567
(409) 762-6676
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 261 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Cleburne, Texas, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“They have their own little twist to food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were here on Good Friday. They put their own little twist to ordinary food items. I had a club which was grilled, even the meat. My husband had a poor boy, it was a little different than we normally get but was still good. He enjoyed the seasoned red potatoe fries. They had a pretty good menu and some really good choices. Atmosphere was good and service was great!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    63
    22
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Yummy and good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I had the Texas Shrimp and my husband had the grilled turkey sandwich.
The food was very fresh - the turkey on the sandwich was not lunch meat - it was real sliced turkey. The side salads were flavorful and the Cajun potatoes were spicy and perfectly cooked. The shrimp was wrapped in bacon and covered with cheese. Perfect, relaxed, beach atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good dinner with very friendly server”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Pretty good joint. Done up in a beach-Caribe theme. It was a quiet Tuesday night so we were seated and served quickly. Server was very friendly and helpful to us tourists. Typical tourist restaurant on the main drag kind of place - burgers, wraps, salads etc. We shared a plate of wings which we piping hot and very tasty. We each had a salad as well. Not the greatest but acceptable. Total bill with soft drinks was $33 for two.

On a quiet night this was a great little restaurant. A 7 out of 10.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Diverse Menu - Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I've dined here many times over the years and I've never had a bad experience here. The staff is always attentive, which makes this a nice quick lunch destination.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagudpud, Philippines
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Lunch Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Busiest place in the street, only bust place in fact, good value, service was efficient and the Shrimp PoBoy was good as was my partners jerk chicken also tasty. (I share the view of one comment, men's toilet smelly and quite dirty, but otherwise a good lunch stop

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaga's Tropical Cafe also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Yaga's Tropical Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yaga's Tropical Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.