We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny's Place

Sonny's Place
1206 19th St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-4702
409-763-9602
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 261 Restaurants in Galveston
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
sarasota, florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Don't miss the homemade gumbo on Fridays ! A local hangout for years and years, I thought it a well kept secret till I saw it on Trip Advisors ! Beer, shufleboard in a family atmosphere (no foul language signs posted !). We've taken our kids for burgers !

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Double Oak, TX
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Must Visit for Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We get over to Sonny's every time we visit Galveston. Try the Spagetti Taco Salad, it is a Texas Original! Great prices, great food, a GREAT family owned place.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Fantastic family owned and operated restaurant. Excellent food Good and friendly service. Location not that easy to find, but worth the hunt.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, LA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Sonny's is a great dive in a residential neighborhood close to the Strand. My burger and fries was awesome. Spouse had chili which he said was good, but he shoulda got it with onions. Waitress suggested buying a pitcher of beer as it would be cheaper if we were going to have multiple beverages. Received food quickly and it was HOT! Funky bar ambience. You may get a complementary joke when you pay your bill. Loved the Elvis pinball machine. They have another pinball machine, a REAL shuffleboard table, and a pool table. NO CREDIT CARDS but they do take checks. They had no hours posted but it was very slow when we were there on a Saturday and after we left they closed for a few hours. I highly recommend Sonny's if you are not a fancy pants and you can enjoy a neighborhood bar & grill.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Locals style Bar and Grill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Sonny's is off the main area of Galveston Island in a residential area. When you walked in it felt like a locals only style bar/grill. Seat your self and we were greeted pretty promptly. They had basic american food like hot dogs, burgers, nachos. I had a muffeletta sandwich minus the meat. It was pretty good, it was on a thicker sesame seeded bun than I was used to but it was still pretty good it was about $8. Other Prices were on the cheaper end, hot dog about $2 and a hamburger around $4. You could purchase fries on the side for about $4.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's Place also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Sonny's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.