We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Compas Taqueria & Mexican

Los Compas Taqueria & Mexican
2314 45th St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
(409) 762-1140
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 261 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Roanoke
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lots of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Me and my husband were just walking around looking for a place to eat when we stumbled upon this establishment. It was very clean and had a fun atmosphere. Once we got our food we couldn't believe how much we got and it was all so good!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    3
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galveston, Texas
1 review
“Bad first impression”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Horrible. Just freakin horrible all the way around. So I decided to try this place out based on a friend's recommendation. What a mistake that was. So I order the d'mingo(the d is silent? I guess) burrito by phone and get told that it'll be ready in 20 minutes. Well 20 minutes later I'm there and have to wait another 20 minutes for my order to be ready. On top of that the customer service was horrendous. You barely get acknowledged and when my order was ready I get a "Here, bye" I mean seriously? Have you people been in business for two days? Save yourself some time and money and go get a bronco(google it) from people who know what customer service is.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Whole Encilada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The salsa for the table was odd and spicy, but the more I ate it the more I really liked it. The enchiladas were excellent. This is a good solid Authentic/Tex-Mex restaurant. If you think El Chico is great mexican food this is probably not the place for you, and it does not offer much for atmosphere, but I enjoyed the food and the service and would definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food was awful, service lacklustre”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We chose this restaurant out of the many Mexican restaurants in Galveston based on all the fabulous reviews online. We had fairly high expectations for the food.

Unfortunately, we were disappointed. We are vegetarian, so we asked for vegetarian recommendations, but they didn't really have any. So, we ordered nachos and gorditas with veggies to share.

The nachos were the worst nachos I've ever eaten, and I eat Mexican pretty frequently. They essentially put some tortilla chips on a plate, dumped on a can of beans, and heated processed liquid cheese on top (not sure if it was Cheese Whiz, but that's what it tasted like). It was really gross.

The gorditas were decent, but we were only given one knife with which to cut them, and we weren't given any plates, so we had to eat from the serving dish and share our knife. When we wanted service from the waitress, we had to go find her at the counter to get her attention. The restaurant was not busy; only one other table of customers while we were there.

Overall, it was just a really disappointing experience. I would not eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Fish Tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were hungry after a day on the beach and wanted something quick. Had carry out fro Los Compas. It was fabulous. The chips and salsa were heated. The fish tacos were grilled with a tasty cream sauce and slaw in the shell. We will be sure to visit them on the next trip to Galveston

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Compas Taqueria & Mexican also viewed

 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Los Compas Taqueria & Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Compas Taqueria & Mexican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.