We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rivals some of our best dining outings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar

Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar
2028 Post Office St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
(409) 762-3696
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 261 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 20th Street
tx
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Rivals some of our best dining outings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We had seen the reviews so decided to check out the restaurant. For dinner, on opentable, reservations were several days out so we went for lunch.

The menu was quite diverse. Local seafood. Latin fare. Pasta. Salads. Really nice options. We had the ceviche, spinach salad, tostadas, taquitos, ropa vieja, and a chicken dish. Instead of bread, they serve plantain and chimichurri. Easy place to eat gluten and dairy free.

The service was fabulous. All the dishes were timed very well. Waters were kept full. The servers were great. The owner, Paco, was there and came by to say hi. The manager came by several times to check on us. And, the food was great.

We would definitely go back. And would highly recommend the restaurant to others. The price was very reasonable for the food and level of service. It's not a cheap place but the price was totally appropriate.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    35
    11
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Always stop here for lunch. Friendly staff and great service. Everything here is good but try the fish tacos, pork tostadas , or the meat loft sandwich. Generous portions.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Yuuuuuum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This place was awesome. The food was wonderful, the staff were wonderful and the atmosphere is nice. I really enjoyed this place and will be back. This may be my favorite place in Galveston. Galveston has a whole lot to offer when it comes to restaurants and cuisine...and this might be my favorite of all of the options I've had so far. I will be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Islands Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We have been going to Rudy & Paco's for the last 4 years, so this is no first time visit review. By far the Islands best restaurant. Outstanding food and atmosphere. The service is second to none. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Friendly Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went for dinner on a Friday. Place was very crowded. We were seated near the bar and therefore the noise level was much lower. Service was very good and the food was innovative and for the most part excellent. I had a fried calamari appetizer. The coating was excellent but the calamari was too chewy. I've had much better in Phoenix and in Rochester, NY.
We left the restaurant at sundown and witnessed a touching bugle "Taps" service held in the street crossing. Beautiful!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.