We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Town Tours

Beach Town Tours
4405 Avenue S 1/2, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX
832-630-2440
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Houston, TX.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just got back off a 2 hour Kayak tour of the back bay of Galveston. The couple that run the business could not have been nicer. Such friendly people and they work with you on weather conditions and wind conditions since it makes a difference if you can go out or not. Safe and top notch gear. Could not be happier with the adventure. Bring water, sunscreen and a hat. Even when it's windy it gets hot paddling that kayak.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We went on a two-hour tour of the bay side of the island through the wetland area and to an oyster reef. Julie was extremely knowledgeable and pointed out wildlife and interesting facts about the island and it's history along the way. The weather was perfect and Julie offered us hints about paddling that we had never heard before and kept us perfectly dry. We will definitely do this tour when we return to the island again!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great kayak tour with knowledgeable guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We did a two-hour kayak tour with Julie during the month of January. She was an extremely professional, friendly and knowledgeable guide and made our trip really fun. The 2 hour tour is a good (but comfortable) workout, and is just the right amount of time to see the island without getting too tiring. It's a really nice way to see a different perspective of the island. You get a great view of some of the beautiful holiday homes, a wide range of sea birds and an interesting stop on an oyster bank. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic Saturday outing with family and friends...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My sister, our significant others, and I had an absolutely outstanding time kayaking with Julie and Mike this weekend. I was happy to see that the equipment was kept in impeccable shape and updated, which made paddling easier for all of us! Julie and Mike are truly passionate about the environment and kayaking. There was never a dull moment on the trip. She was knowledgeable about the wildlife and beach houses in the area which made it an informative and interesting trip. We chose a beach house/marsh kayaking tour and saw a plethora of wildlife including stone crabs, conchs, oyster bars, fish, spoon bills, herons, oyster catchers, pelicans within an arms length, and several other fascinating and beautiful animals. We are not experienced kayakers but it was a breeze to pick up. I enjoyed the freedom of being able to paddle around excitedly and in a way pick out our own path with Julie's watchful eye keeping us out of harms way of course! This is an absolutely perfect idea for couples, families with teens, friends, and even solo riders looking to pick up a new hobby or get some exercise. We will DEFINITELY be returning to try out another tour. Use the restroom before you get to launch site.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmp10
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Mike and Julie are great hosts, very knowledgeable and accommodating. Loved the tour and was a great workout. Would recommend this to anyone novice or professionall without knowledge of Galveston Bay. Julie and Mike can adapt to whatever level of experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Town Tours also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Beach Town Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Town Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.