We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbo Diner

Gumbo Diner
3602 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX
409 7694232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 263 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Aubrey, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We've eaten breakfast here on two trips to Galveston. The first time was in February when the water was still and we could spy dolphins across the street in the gulf. This time, the water was too choppy, but it was a great experience anyway. The food and coffee are good. The prices are a little higher, but that's expected on the Seawall. The staff is excellent and always friendly. The manager came around and asked us how we were doing on both visits.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    39
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“Jacked jalapeno are great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The jacked jalapenos were great and i recommend them for someone who likes spicy food. The gumbo wasn't great. I didn't like the rue. It tasted too burnt.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groesbeck, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Went there for breakfast and was not disappointed. Everything on everyone's plate disappeared and quickly. Server friendly and very attentive.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Waffle House with a bar. Lousy beignets!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

These are not beignets- funnel cakes, maybe... They were crunchy & hard. The only edible part was the powdered sugar! Biscuits & gravy had gravy the consistency of milk. We didn't even touch them. Also didn't eat the hash browns - in fact, had to scrape then onto another plate because they were slimy. The build-your-own on omelets were okay, but there isn't salt on the table, which may have made the food a little less bland. Huge disappointment for $42 for 1 adult & 2 kids!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected Soul Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

One evening I opted for a dinner of side dishes instead of an entre and was surprised with some of the best black eyed peas and squash I've ever had. Cooked with a soul food flare.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo Diner also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Gumbo Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbo Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.