We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for breakfast pancakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbo Diner

Gumbo Diner
3602 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX
409 7694232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 261 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast pancakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Ate here twice for breakfast because the hotel offering was so lame. Fluffy wholewheat pancakes with blueberry topping and syrup were fantastic. Good coffee too with lots of refills. What makes this place though is the diner style decor and the service. The waiting staff were friendly, chatty and helpful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    38
    15
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Love the shrimp and grits...just like Florida!
Delicious!
Our waitress was so sweet and great service

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast: after searching for 2 hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Ok. We came to Galveston during the off season, but I still think you should be able to find an open diner to eat breakfast! Anyway, we found this place and it looks so small next to the huge hotels. Don't be fooled. Go in. We loved the decor. The waitress immediately asked us if we wanted binets. Score! We got a Bloody Mary and a mimosa too. The Bloody Mary was awesome. The mimosa tasted like orange juice and vodka and maybe some rubbing alcohol.
The menu was brief but had anything you could need. I got the juevos rancheros. Fantastic! Bean, eggs cheese etc. yummy. My husband ordered an omelette, but the wrong one came out. He ate it anyway. We also got the wrong side order of meat. I think a lot of people came in at the same time and our waitress got flustered. However, she was extremely friendly and even gave me coffee to go. I would come here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Went with a group of 8 people and had a bad experience. Took forever to get a server. Once we got a server could not understand him. Took about 45 minutes to get our order and over half of the people in our group got the wrong order. When trying to get the servers attention he was rude and turned and walked away from our group. Finally got a supervisor 10 minutes later. The manager finally fixed our orders. Would not recommend it to anyone and won't go there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Had a wonderful breakfast here. My egg-white omelet was well cooked and very savory. The beignets are amazing! It's a bit pricey, and we did not have any other meals, so I can only review the breakfast. Service was good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo Diner also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Gumbo Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbo Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.