We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there for the food, not the ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gumbo Diner

Gumbo Diner
3602 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX
409 7694232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 265 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Go there for the food, not the ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Gumbo's is in a former Waffle House location, tucked in next to a hotel. The service was excellent. Our waitress went over and above. The food was good and the portions generous.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    53
    18
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Schertz, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Gumbo Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was the first time we visited the Gumbo Diner and we really liked it. Very good Gumbo and Fried Shrimp. The wait staff was friendly and attentive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Decent Louisiana cooking but I've have better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Nothing really wrong with this place but I'm sorry to report that I have had better meals at the chain Pappadeaux. The raw oysters were the smallest oysters I've ever seen, Greek salad was ok but tasted like grocery store salad dressing and no special ingredients (I love how Pappadeaux sneaks in a few shrimp to the Greek Salad). The Gumbo was ok but again I have had better. Everything is ala carte here so if you want side dishes be sure to order it. Even the bread requires a side order.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Fried shrimp was decent. Gumbo was ok. Chicken tenders where dry and burnt. French fries were an terrible, burnt, old and cold. Take out order was wrong and fried shrimp for the salads were missing. Big let down for the price!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Ok, so I haven't experienced all the breakfasts in town, but after paying high dollar for a so/so dinner the night before, this breakfast spot hit the nail on the head. It's a hip, upbeat, clean, greasy spoon place that holds probably about 100 people. There are seats at the bar where you can see what they do to prepare for the gumbo later in the day.

Typical breakfast menu preparations, including steak and eggs, pancakes, waffles, etc. They also serve beignets which are DELICIOUS and amazing. The staff was super friendly. It's busy on a Sunday morning, so expect to beat or wait out the breakfast rush.

My husband said their sausage was delicious, not breakfast sausage but homemade in a place nearby. The chicken fried steak and eggs was a big hit with my step son and I loved the pancake and eggs.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo Diner also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Gumbo Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gumbo Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.