We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9540 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
GrOves,TX
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
“GREAT STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

What a great hotel. The service was excellent which care given to the details. The rooms were spotless and well stocked. The pool area was very nice. There was a full service bar for drinks and a waitress walking around to service your every need food or drinks. The employees made sure during the day that the restrooms were stocked and clean, pool towel rack stayed full.Employees made sure you were well taken care of

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    47
    28
    18
    7
See reviews for
78
27
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

However, we saw a roach in our room. The room was slightly smaller than expected, but nice and well equipped. The pool that is shared with the Courtyard is fun for the kids and there is a bar next to it for the adults. The breakfast is the same as all other Towneplace Suites: sparse. Bring your own food or eat in the Courtyard.

The property is far down the west end of Seawall Blvd, so don't expect to be within walking distance of the Pleasure Pier.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel 7/5 - 7/7 on a family vacation with small kids. The cleanliness is wonderful. The king size room is spacious and is equipped with a large flat screen TV, refrigerator & freezer, stove top range, microwave & dishwasher. (dished & all cookware is included!)
The only down side is the breakfast. The breakfast area is small and not very organized. It would be best to cook in your room to avoid the headache.
We were directly across the street from the beach but none of the rooms face the beach.

Room Tip: Parking is a premium. If you arrive late you may have a long way to walk or park across the street b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a 2 Queen room w/Kitchenette for our family of 4 (2 boys ages 4 & 7) - great space, galley style kitchenette was great for snacks for our kids, clean, comfy beds & blackout curtains (hooray for sleeping in!). The hotels is like a complex built behind the Marriott Courtyard (that actually fronts Seawall Blvd.), with a shared resort-style pool w/ waterfall separating the two. The pool had a bar on the deck; available cabanas, lots of lounge chair seating AND awesome ambient lighting after dark. Given that these two brands are generally in the more "moderate" range of Marriott's spectrum, I have to imagine that by sharing the pool they were able to create a much more upscale pool facility than either of these hotels would have had alone. The staff was super friendly & accommodating. The quirks were not deal breakers for us, but might have been nice to know about ahead of time - 1) Location - said before, behind Courtyard, so easy to miss & limited to no ocean views. Also, pretty far down the Seawall - great for a family like us needing a little more quiet/peace in the evenings, but walking to restaurants, shops, beach is not an option. 2.) Elevators - only one reaches the parking garage below the hotel & requires a key to access the floors w/ rooms. Nice safety perk, but the other elevator has a key slot but doesn't require it's use to access the room floors - so couldn't the boogie man just walk through the sliding door to the lobby and come up that elevator? It also took us a little to figure out that the key wasn't needed in that elevator, so we thought our key was demagnetized. 3) Breakfast serving area is quite small and the hotel was pretty full...a little difficult to get yourself/your family served, but maybe getting down a little earlier (we're on the lazy side on vacation) might've helped. Overall, we LOVED this place and really had a hard time wanting to leave. Hoping the prices don't go too high for our budget once the word gets out that they're out there!!

Room Tip: I'm not sure, but you MIGHT be able to get a little seawall/ocean view if your room is on the so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were very impressed with the new and quality building and facilities. The location is a little too far down the West end of the island...but the rooms, lobby and breakfast area made up for it. However, we had very bad experience with the quality of the service of the front desk and the manager in resolving what should have been a simple problem. We WILL NOT stay here again due to the attitude and handling by the staff of the hotel. The breakfast service was excellent even though the area is too small to allow very many people at a time...you almost have to just eat and run or take the food to go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Nice location, located on the seawall. It shares the lot with the Marriott Courtyard. It was away from the busy beach area but close to Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn. Looks brand new. Room had a mini kitchen and free breakfast was available. Great service!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was quite surprised at how nice this place is, and we'd definitely go back. We had 2 adults and 2 small kids (ages 4 & 7) in a queen suite.
ROOM
The room was large, clean, nicely decorated.
Flat screen TV with cable (some of the channels listed on the reference cad didn't work, like HBO...wasn't sure why?).
The bathroom was very clean - toilet and shower separate from the sink/mirror (always a plus!) but both rooms were a little cramped.
Kitchen had full size refridgerator, microwave, stovetop, oven, as well as various kitchen ware (dishes, glasses, pots, etc).
Noise level was acceptable - generally quiet, not much outside noise.
No view of anything since it's behind the Courtyard, but I wasn't expecting much.
I had thought since it was called a suite, it would have a separate bedroom from sitting area, but that was not the case.
PARKING
FREE!!! The parking along the front/side of the hotel was limited, but the parking garage in back had ample parking, and you could take the elevator straight up to your floor without having to trek through the lobby, which was nice.
POOL
NICE!!!! This was my favorite part. Large pool with multiple ledges and zero entry on one end. Very nice cabanas (for rental only). Bar inside a cabana with flat screen, expensive but decent drinks. The pool was pretty clean, has a nice waterfall, and the view behind the pool beyond the hotel is actually very nice. Service poolside was non-existent but we got our drinks at the bar. Note that the pool is shared with the Courtyard, so I suspect maybe on weekends it might get really crowded (we were there on a Thursday night).
BREAKFAST
Continental... cereal, toast, English muffins, coffee, packaged muffins. Nothing fancy but it was included in the price of the room. Eating area is small but outside seating is available too. There is a pretty good market in the lobby with lots of snacks, drinks, candy, etc.
LOCATION
It's right at the end of the Seawall going towards West End. Hard to see the sign but look for the Courtyard. You have to cut through Courtyard to get to it. We were visiting friends in Dellanera RV Park, so this location was perfect! You can pay $8 there or at the next beach access point to park and go to the beach. FYI for those not familiar with Galveston, most of the hotels are across the street from the beach (as is this hotel).
We'd definitely stay there again. Great price for value!

Room Tip: Queen suites are not separate rooms from kitchen/sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#10 of 49 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front
7.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seawall Inn & Suites by the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front

Address: 9540 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.