We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway in a great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9540 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #17 of 49 hotels in Galveston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway in a great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was beautiful, the staff was great, the pool area is so nice, and our two bedroom suite was perfect. The interior appears to be new. The pool area was so nice that our kids didn't want to go to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    28
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
45
17
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a new hotel. Very roomy with full kitchen. Free covered parking on ground level. Friendly staff. Located behind Marriott Courtyard on the west end of the seawall boulevard. Nice breakfast. Will stay here again on my next visit to Galveston. A very short drive to attactions. Great price for value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a newer hotel in Galveston and we chose it due to it being part of the Marriott family of hotels and us being Marriott members. We had never stayed in a Towneplace Suites by Marriott before, but decided to give it a try since this was just for a girls overnight getaway. This hotel was very nice, clean and accomodating. The rooms were nice and clean. it had a small kitchen which would be very suitable if you wanted to take some food to cook (2 burner cooktop). Had a fridge and a dishwasher. We did not use the kitchen as we only stayed overnight so we didn't cook. The pool is very, very nice. it has a bar area that you can order beverages and food items + an attendant that will come around while you are at the pool, and ask if you want anything. The towel area was nice and kept - you can get your pool towels when you arrive at the pool. they had plenty of chairs and umbrellas and some tables with umbrellas. They also have a few cabana areas with canopies and cushioned lounge seating, which is nice. We asked for more towels in the evening, for our room and they got them for us right away. The snack/beverage area in the lobby is very nice and it was well stocked, if you wanted a coke or water, or maybe chips, etc. Everything was clean. they have a work out facility and a laundry facility. I hope they keep this hotel nice and it doesn't go downhill as it gets older. As long as they keep it this nice, I will definitely stay there again. We were very happy with this hotel and our stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Everything about this place We loved! It was a group of 4 of us ladies, a mommas getaway for the weekend! We did not want to leave! Its perfect. We had the 2 bedroom 2 bath suite with kitchenette. This hotel is newer, its located in a quiet area on the quieter side of the island. The view of the ocean could be seen from our suite, Perfect! There is a sleeper sofa for one extra person. It can fit 5 people comfortable. We booked it thru Booking.com with a great weekend price. The hotel itself is connected with a Courtyard by Marriot, that was kind of confusing when you first pull in. The pool was BEAUTIFUL it was like 1ft for the little ones then stepped off to atleast 4ft. There is a bar, you can order food, and had cabanas, SWEETTT! The staff was Super Friendly!! Breakfast consisted of bagels,cereal,muffins, and more.

The bottom line:
Stay here you wont be disappointed, its nice, clean, comfortable, perfect, and I will return....Let the planning begin!

Room Tip: Our room number was 3001! It had Beautiful views of the Ocean! Its a corner suite..
See more room tips
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

What a gem! We stayed here the night before a cruise. The rooms were immaculate, large and comfortable. The breakfast was just what we needed, and if you wanted a restaurant nearby, the Courtyard had a substantial menu. We were impressed most of all by the friendly service- everyone seemed to genuinely being there and wanted to ensure guests were happy. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Really nice pool to relax by with cabanas, pool bar and food! Heather kept us refreshed with cool drinks. The pool is shared with The Courtyard by Marriott and a Starbucks Bistro is on location.

Our room was a king suite with full kitchen, dishes, etc. Brand new. You can still smell the paint drying. Comfortable beds fluffy towels and large desk/work station.

Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. David waited and chatted to us for the complimentary shuttle to arrive and take us downtown for supper. While on our drive downtown, we were treated to an impromptu historical tour by the driver, David. With his charming jokes and amazing singing voice we were just totally impressed. Nate and Cody, who checked us in at arrival, never seemed to leave. Always there to answer any questions we had. Great value, super property, not close to the hassle and bustle of downtown, but in every sense of the word, a little piece of paradise!

We would recommend this property to anyone looking for a getaway to Galveston, but we don't want it to become too popular, that we can't get a room next time we come back. And we expect to come back!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay overnight in Galveston while we visited Moody Gardens. This hotel was brand new having only been opened for 3 months. The hotel was not right on the seawall but behind another Marriott hotel. There was a lovely pool area in the middle which was shared by the 2 hotels. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which had a view of the Gulf of Mexico and the pool area. The suite had a nice kitchen with a large refrigerator, a stove, a microwave, and a dishwasher. The living room was small with a table for 4 up against the kitchen. There were 2 bedrooms with queen sized beds and each had their own full bathroom. A real plus since we were traveling with another couple. The living room and both bedrooms all had their own TVs.The beds and bedding were wonderful and the hotel was very quiet during the night. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The ones we came in contact with went out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our visit. The lobby area had an area where you could buy snacks and drinks if you wanted. The continental breakfast in the morning consisted of coffee,juice,cereal,oatmeal,bananas,yogurt,and muffins.
The only downside was the traffic on the seawall in the morning was noisy even though the hotel was away from the road.
We had a nice stay here however, and I would reccommend it to anyone visiting Galveston.

Room Tip: Rooms away from facing the Gulf of Mexico may be quieter in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front

Address: 9540 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.