We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend time at the pool!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front to your Saves list
Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9550 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Albert Park
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Spend time at the pool!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Our room was very nice and roomy, with a couch area and bed as well as cooking facilities (microwave and hot water, which is probably all you need when you are out and about).

This hotel is quite a way out of town, which is no problem if you have a car, but you can't really walk anywhere.

The hotel has a nice restaurant and indoor relaxation area, but by far the best feature is the pool area. We had a lovely afternoon swim (I even got my husband into the pool, which is saying something - the water has to be almost tropical for him to get wet), and a drink from the bar while relaxing in the cabana. A lovely end to the day's sightseeing.

Room Tip: We ended up deciding on a balcony with a pool view, but we couldn't really use the balcony as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    55
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
45
62
2
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was recently in Galveston on a Friday night ( 06/25/14) having booked a room with my wife at the Courtyard by Marriott on Seawall Blvd. We arrived the hotel front at about 9pm and the whole place was dark. Apparently electricity was off in a section of the Sea world Blvd and it affected several hotels. We were told to hang around until the light comes back. There was no standing generator. After waiting for 4-5 hours in the dark we left to find alternative accommodation for the night, thereby paying higher rate. We call back to the Courtyard Marriott the following day only to be told that our reservation has been cancelled. There was no apology. In all it was the most unpleasant experience that I have had with any hotel since I have been travelling.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason T, Manager at Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front. We sincerely apologize that we could not properly accomodate your family due to the circumstances surrounding the power outage. We assure you that we are further developing our staff and your comment will be discussed with our associates. Although we could not accomodate you in the proper manner that you deserve, we would love it if you would give us another chance to prove that hotel is a great place to stay. Again, we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Visit started out great. Got an early check in so we could start our day, room with a gulf view and next to elevator turned out to not be noisy at all. Pool was great, staff friendly. Come back to our room at 8:45pm and power goes out at 9pm. This means no phone, no card access to room, total hot darkness. We decided at 10:15 to try to sleep, awoke at 2am sweating. No one had ever come by my room to tell us what was going on, again, could not reach front desk from room or from mobile. Called customer service and no one knew what was going on, but reported to regional. Asked for callback, never got one. Still have not received a call. At 2am called another Marriott outside of Galveston and was told the problem was an outage effecting 6 hotels and condos with no ETA and every hotel room was full on the island. So what did we do? Pack up everything and left the hotel in the pitch black (luckily I pack flashlights). We start driving home at 3am. There were no trucks on the street working on the power, we were lucky to have been in our room with our belongings. The people next to us couldnt get into their room and they were in their bathing suits with two small kids. This will be a memorable trip, but very disappointed in staff not communicating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason T, Manager at Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front. While we are happy to hear that your stay began great, we are also deeply saddened that your stay was not enjoyable due to the circumstances surrounding the power outage. We assure you that communication is key when dealing with extenuating circumstances such as that. As we are further developing our staff, we will ensure that your comment will be discussed with our entire staff. Again, we appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

after much searching and review reading, I decided to book this hotel. when my husband, boys and I arrived our expectations where well met . the beds are very comfortable, the rooms, lobby and pool are very clean. the staff was very helpful and pleasant. the bistros in the lobby is" ok" .. a bit over priced but there are plenty of other eateries close by!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We enjoyed our beach front balcony. The pool is very nice. Perfect for couples and families. The bistro is over priced. The room is overpriced. Our room didn't even get cleaned one day. It was ok. We'll look for a different hotel next time we go.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason T, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences experienced during your stay. Your comment has been passed along to each of the department managers, and we are ensuring that our staff is receiving futher training and development in the necessary areas. If you decide to give us another chance, please feel free to contact the hotel and ask to speak with the Assistant General Manager, who will personally ensure that your next stay is more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Breakfast was lacking but the girl who worked the breakfast more than made up for that. She was the sweetest most attentive person. Room was nice and had sofa bed for the kid. Close to the water and pier. Price was right...would for sure stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I mainly chose Courtyard due to its reward program, but it turned out to be an excellent place to stay. It is further out from the main part of the seawall hotels, but that made it quieter. We did have to drive to any activities we wanted to do, but that was ok. Nothing is too far on an island. Room size was good, we reserved a balcony room so we could look out over the ocean. No beach across from the hotel, just rocks in front of the seawall. The Bistro is good, we ate breakfast there one morning. There is a good pool in the back, only down side is the pool is shared with Townsuites so it was very crowded most of the time. Overall I would recommend Courtyard as a good place to lay your head in Galveston.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front

Address: 9550 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.