We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for quiet relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front to your Saves list
Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9550 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent for quiet relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here on business--wish i'd had more time to enjoy it!

The hotel--
Lobby: gorgeous, very well decorated with nice ambiance. there's a bar at the entrance and some booths as well as a lounge area where you can see the pool.
General decor: modern, colorful, and probably recently re-done. tasteful and looks upscale.
Bathrooms: nice and clean, reasonably spaced, well lit
Beds: standard, pillows are a little too soft
Temp control: wall unit
Amenities: paul mitchell shampoo/conditioner, lots of chargers by the bed, coffeemaker, full length mirror

EXTRA STUFF--
The pool outside is really great. It's got lots of lounge chairs, mini waterfall, colored lights at night... It's shared with the Towneplace behind the Courtyard so it's located in between the two and you can't see the beach from the pool.

The hotel is just across the street from the beach so you can go out for a stroll/run. However, the location is farther away from the restaurants and bars than other hotels on Seawall Blvd (it's other end of Galveston Island) but it's quiet and they're all still accessible with a 10-15 minutes drive.

Room Tip: You can get an ocean view room at this hotel! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    43
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
42
49
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eccleshall
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Clean and nearly new!
Reasonable prices.
Gorgeous pool. Try a seaward facing room.
Dining room only works in an evening over the weekends.
Only niggle is that internet was intermittent in my room(308).
Other than that PERFECT!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompsons Station, TN
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days last week and enjoyed everything about the stay. This is a new hotel right on Seawall Blvd. Upon check in we knew this would be good. The staff is excellent and so frendly and helpful. We had a room facing the gulf with a balcony ...beautiful view. The pool area is like that at a small resort - heated. There is plenty of parking, some under the hotel. The only negative is that it's on the far end of the blvd but that's also a plus as you are removed from some of the busyness.

Room Tip: Do what you can to get a room with balcony facing the gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We traveled here for a school football game in a nearby city, loved the hotel our room # 416 had an amazing view, the only negative was the beach across the street wasn't really a beach it was man made stones and you had to cross over the main drag to even get to the beach but the hotel was great wonderful hospitality and there was even a starbucks in the lobby:))

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hotel was very clean. The bedding sheets and towels smelled so fresh and clean. The best hotel in Galveston for your money. Very clean room and spacious. It is just minutes away from the touristy areas but far enough to relax and calm your mind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helotes, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The family and I stayed here a couple of nights during August. We liked the hotel a lot. Its new, clean, and having a larger combined sister property pool is good. There is a nice lobby bistro/bar and a pool bar. The bistro evening service was outstanding.


The Galveston ocean was nasty while we visited. It was one of the times when seaweed is there and the city does not rake the beaches. My daughters refused to go near the beach.

Good thing we had a good resort pool. We did Moody Gardens, which we always like (but is very expensive). I also visited the Blues Brothers Brewpub in downtown Galveston that turned out to not actually make beer because they were under new management and doing some construction.

We became a little bored with Galveston and left a day early. Two nights was plenty.

I definitely recommend this Courtyard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The property and the room were very nice and all function was well thought-after. The bed was very comfortable. The food at the food bar in the lobby was healthy and flavorful. I liked the location being on the quieter side of the island. The pool was very nice as was the exercise room. Overall, a very good stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front

Address: 9550 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.