We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front to your Saves list
Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9550 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Weekend trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Hotel was very clean. The bedding sheets and towels smelled so fresh and clean. The best hotel in Galveston for your money. Very clean room and spacious. It is just minutes away from the touristy areas but far enough to relax and calm your mind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    37
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
41
45
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helotes, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The family and I stayed here a couple of nights during August. We liked the hotel a lot. Its new, clean, and having a larger combined sister property pool is good. There is a nice lobby bistro/bar and a pool bar. The bistro evening service was outstanding.


The Galveston ocean was nasty while we visited. It was one of the times when seaweed is there and the city does not rake the beaches. My daughters refused to go near the beach.

Good thing we had a good resort pool. We did Moody Gardens, which we always like (but is very expensive). I also visited the Blues Brothers Brewpub in downtown Galveston that turned out to not actually make beer because they were under new management and doing some construction.

We became a little bored with Galveston and left a day early. Two nights was plenty.

I definitely recommend this Courtyard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The property and the room were very nice and all function was well thought-after. The bed was very comfortable. The food at the food bar in the lobby was healthy and flavorful. I liked the location being on the quieter side of the island. The pool was very nice as was the exercise room. Overall, a very good stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I usually check in at the Marriott properties and this one is one of the best! Very clean rooms and spacious as well as the bathrooms.Towels and linens are as white as snow and are freshly cleaned and pressed. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Overall experience at this Marriott location is excellent. Everything was what you could expect from a well-maintained Marriott hotel. Greeted by very friendly hotel staff, room overlooking the sea is also a big plus!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My fiancé and I drove down to the island on a whim and decided we would give this hotel a shot. Glad we did! Staff are very friendly, hotel is clean and fresh. It was a little chilly for the pool but it looked very nice. The room was good sized and pay the extra $10 for the gulf view side. (May be different price in peak season). The shower was what surprised me. Most islands or coastal hotels only get "ok" water pressure especially on the 4th floor. This one was great ad warmed up quickly. We will hopefully get to come back for more than a night!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited here just to get away from Houston for a weekend and have a close to home vacation. We did not spend much time at the hotel, just sleep and shower.
This was a very nice and new hotel with a small parking garage below hotel. There is a small pool outside with no hot tub. There is a bar by the pool but did not use it.
Overall the room was very clean and very good for the price (off season). Our room had a king sized bed, small couch, desk, and a mini fridge; decent size for 2 people. Bed was super comfy and slept very well, was hard to get out in the morning. Shower had a small granite extension to sit on while in the shower, made the shower feel more spacious.

Cons: Further west of most of the action; restaurants, bars, and public beaches. It would be good for a family who wants it quieter and less party schenanigans.

I would stay here again and recommend to a friend.

10/4/13 to 10/6/13

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front

Address: 9550 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.