We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new Courtyard in Galveston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9550 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Colleyville, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice new Courtyard in Galveston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

When checking on places to stay in Galveston I was extremely pleased to find that Marriott had finally built a Courtyard there. Granted, it is on the west end of Seawall Blvd, but we were still a bit disappointed that it was not by a beach section... the stairs led to rocks. The beach doesn't start for about a 1/2 mile to the east. Nonetheless, this is a very nice new hotel, with an awesome pool. It is connected by the pool to their TownPlace Suites, so there were lots of kids in it last weekend. School should be starting soon, but even with the kids there, it was still very nice. The pool is very nice, almost resort like, with a cabana bar and food service. There is a waterfall, several umbrella laden tables, and a fire pit. The pool features changing colors every few seconds at night and music, too.

Being that the hotel is at the west end of the Seawall, there isn't much else down there either. Most of the restaurants and the Pleasure Pier are at the east end, and it's not really a "walk" to anywhere else.

The rooms are very nice, spacious and with comfortable beds and a clean bathroom. The A/C needed fairly constant attention, it seemed to keep going back up after we set it down, but the room stayed cool with that extra attention. We had an Ocean view on the 3rd floor with 2 queen beds and a good view of the water and traffic on Seawall Blvd. We did wish they had more than 4 rooms with balconies. The hotel is nice packaged with amenities like flat panel TVs, including several in the lobby, a room service menu and a nice meeting and lobby area with a small bar and food service there, too.

One complaint... parking. We arrived back at the hotel just after midnight and there wasn't a single space available, I ended up having to park on the boulevard... not too pleased about that. By the time we awoke the following morning to check on it, there were 5 more cars out there. They really need more spaces, hopefully they can rectify that as the Security person told me it had been an issue since it opened in March 2013.

Overall though, a good find for our stay... prices probably drop some after the summer season, but it was still comparable to others along the seawall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    23
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
24
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Courtyard by Marriott, Galveston
Nice new hotel at the non-busy end of Galveston Island. We had poor weather (Thunder, lightning and rainstorms) but spent most of our time round the pool area.
The hotel was quite expensive and did not offer complimentary breakfast.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and we enjoyed our stay.
Galveston is however very tired and feels like a run-down sea side resort that we sometimes see in the UK. We will probably not return to Galveston but have no complaints about the hotel which is very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is not located directly on a sandy beach area or near any of the main action but everything is easily accessed because parking on Seawall Blvd is super easy. My family of four stayed in an ocean view balcony room on the 4th floor. First impression was that the room was small but our king size bed was amazingly comfortable and we didn't stay in the room long anyway. The staff was very friendly, always willing to accomodate our requests. The pool was great! We ordered food several times from the pool bar because it was convenient and fairly priced. Kids burgers were great. This trip was a mini-vacation just to get away and relax and this hotel fit the bill perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We came to Galveston to get away before school started. The staff here is great! They went above and beyond to try to help us find the Texas Rangers game on TV (to no avail since this an Astros town!) They even offered to find us an umbrella to walk over to the pool bar (it was storming) to see if it was on there. The room was clean and the lobby is state of the art. Definitely a favorite!! We are usually Hilton family hotel people....

Room Tip: Definitely get an ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I booked a few days at the Courtyard to spend time with my daughter before she went back to college. We've never been to Galveston before. We arrived tired, but check in was speedy and the front desk staff are very friendly. We got up to our room, which was very clean and I was thrilled to find Paul Mitchell hair products - it's what I actually use at home! The front desk staff recommended a great beach for us to go to (this hotel is on the seawall - not a swimming beach) and the restaurant Gaido's which was absolutely amazing...I'll review that too. The pool at this hotel was awesome. Very resort style, and cool color changing bulbs at night. My only complaint didnt' occur until we were packing all of our things and getting ready to go. There were people next door who were very obviously in the throes of ecstactic sex and apparently the walls are thin because the moaning groaning and shouts of pleasure were unmistakable. And since I was traveling with my daughter, this was awkward and had to turn on some loud music to drown it out. Laughing about it now, but at the time - awkward. I would still return to this hotel, as everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Since this is a very new hotel, it is very clean! We got a nice view of the beach and had a lovely time! We weren't dreading coming back to the hotel at the end of the night. Only thing I have to complain about is when we came to check in, the lady at the front was very slow when looking to see if our room was ready.. It took her about 10 minutes. Other than that it was wonderful. Pool was beautiful too. Would come back :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family and I stayed here 2 nights in August, 2013. As others have stated, it is a very nice hotel on the western edge of town. There is no beach directly across the street, so be prepared to walk a good distance or a short drive to the beach. The best beaches are just to the west of the hotel, so I thought it ended up being better for us. Room was very nice with a view overlooking the Gulf. The pool is very nice, but crowded due to the fact that it was shared between the Courtyard and the Towne Suites next door. The underground parking garage was a plus, especially to keep the vehicle out of the hot Texas sun. Overall, a quality hotel experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front

Address: 9550 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 49 hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.