We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly new hotel with very nice pool area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front to your Saves list
Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9550 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Lumberton, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fairly new hotel with very nice pool area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Parking is good. I was allowed to check in early but was given a room right next to the elevator and could hear the hallway noise often. My king bed room was small for 2 adults. The mirrors and trash cans were kind of dirty. The bed and TV were nice. Lots of staff members just standing around talking and staring. One of the elevators requires a room key to work. I had to learn this the hard way as I wasn't informed by the person checking me in. A/C isn't very strong. Blackout curtains are better than average. The hotel is 2-3 miles from the beach action, nice restaurants and attractions. Overall better than average for Galveston but not quite very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    43
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
42
49
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent a quick 1 night Sunday stay the weekend after the July 4th holiday. We arrived around the posted check out time of 3pm and were told our 2 rooms were ready. Check in went smoothly, then I noticed that each of our rooms started with different numbers. I went back to the desk and sure enough, even though earlier we had been assured that we had connecting rooms, they were on different floors! Our first room that was advertised on the website as a king bed room with a 2 person sofa sleeper that could sleep 5 persons with a rollaway was the first room available so we moved our luggage upstairs. There was a small parking lot in front of the hotel as well as a parking garage. The hotel provided small carts that made moving our luggage a breeze. The king bed room (#321) seemed very small! I couldn't find a place where a rollaway would fit! The room was decorated and furnished beautifully and was clean. There was a small fridge and a coffee maker in the room. No microwave but there was one down in the lobby area where the snacks were sold. The room had a window with a view of the pool area but no balcony. I think the only rooms with balconies may be the ocean view rooms but I am not sure. We booked with a government rate so did not reserve a particular view. The second room was not ready until after 6pm. That room with 2 queen beds (#319) was advertised as only sleeping a maximum of 4 in the room but the room looked much bigger and even had a single fold out chair that could sleep an extra person. There was a closet on one side of the wall in addition to the armoire where some clothing could be hung. The king bed room did not have a closet but did have the armoire. Both bathrooms appeared to be identical. We decided to take a walk to check out the "beach". At check in, we confirmed with the clerk that indeed the hotel was not "beach front" although it was "ocean front". It is right across the street from the water but not close to a traffic light so we dashed across the street when there were no cars. The area directly in front of the hotel has no sand and is very rocky. You could walk down to the rocks but they were very uneven and I could see how it would be easy to fall, especially for young kids and older adults. We walked on the sidewalk up above. After walking about half a mile (this is when you turn to the right after exiting the hotel), the seawall ended and there was a sandy beach! We spent some time on the beach but only had about an hour and a half before it started to get dark. My husband ended up walking back to the hotel, picking up the van and we drove to grab a quick burger and the kids spend the rest of the night in the hotel pool until it closed at 11pm. The pool area has a resort feel to it. There was music playing and one area of the pool had a small waterfall. The pool underwater lights changed colors. The pool bar was closed when we got there that night. There are signs that say no food or drink in the pool area but they must mean food and drinks purchased any where else are not allowed. There are also cabana areas for up to 6 groups. Saw signs by the cabanas that said the price for use of the cabana all day is $100 and that includes water, a bottle of wine and a fruit plate. After swimming, we spent some time out in the outdoor seating areas by the fire pit and also visited the workout room. The room is clean and has very nice equipment and free weights. The workout room provides towels and ear buds. Towels are provided out by the pool as well. The next morning, I took a morning walk but there was no place within close walking distance to pick up breakfast to take back to the room. There were options from the downstairs cafe that ranged from about $4 for a bowl of cereal to $8 or $9 for a hot breakfast sandwich or a breakfast platter. The cafe and lobby areas were very nice and the kids loved that there was a private tv at the tables where you eat. If the kids were awake, we would have taken them down to eat, but breakfast ended at 10am and the kids slept later than that. I ended up driving to the Mc Donalds inside a Walmart and took breakfast back to the kids. I did buy Starbucks coffee (around $2) and a yogurt parfait ($3 or $4) from the hotel cafe. The hotel beds were super comfy and they were just as nice as the full service hotels (Hyatt and JW Marriott) that we have stayed at recently. We heard no noise whatsoever and had a very restful sleep. Check out was noon and although we did get a delayed check out (12:30 for one of the rooms and 1pm for the other room) since the kids got up so late, we ended up just packing up everything and putting everything in the car before driving to the beach. We ended up at a strip of beach close to a lifeguard tower across from the Convention Center and Kroger's grocery store (about 2.5 miles from the hotel in the opposite direction we walked the night before). It had started raining as we drove to the beach but quickly cleared up and we spent a few hours on the beach. We went back to the hotel and used the pool area outdoor shower to rinse off and changed in the bathrooms. That bathroom was among the cleanest pool bathrooms I have ever been in. There was no indoor shower but there were changing rooms with a bench. Ended up getting a cheese pizza for the kids to eat by the pool. It was cut into 8 smaller slices and was under $10 before tax/tip which seemed reasonable for a hotel. Everything was perfect about this hotel other than the location. Also one of the two elevators had an awful smell. It was so bad we almost had to hold our breath every time we rode in it! I do prefer to be within walking distance of a sandy beach. So if the main purpose of a trip is to go to the beach, I'm not sure I would pick this Marriott Courtyard. It also might be nice to be within walking distance of more places like restaurants and stores. But if you are looking for a clean, quiet, new, upscale and affordable hotel in the area and don't mind driving to a beach or eateries, look no further! I did confirm with the front desk that all the 2 queen bed rooms have the sleeper chair so sleep 5 even though the website does not say that. She said they were new so all the website information isn't correct. This particular trip we had my husband's 2 nephews with us so needed two rooms, but if we returned to this hotel with just my family (2 adults/3 kids) I would opt for the 2 queen bed room over the king bed room.

Room Tip: 2 queen bed room we had had sofa chair so slept 5. King bed room seemed much smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A brand new hotel. Good location, right across from the beach, just cross the street and you are on the beach. Rooms are comfortable and clean, great for kids on the sofabeds, with all amenities and a great pool.Sufficient kitchen facility in the room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West University Place, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very nice hotel with clean rooms and a great view - all is clean as is brand new . The rec room is also very nice and clean and spacious. The pillows are not nearly as good as the Hilton ! The cutest fact is sometimes if you get a back room (not of the gulf) you have a view of the Cows ! on the neighboring property . How cute is that !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is one of two new marriott hotels in Galveston, both this one and townplace suites share a driveway and more across from the beach in Galveston.
Arrival: a little hard to navigate into parking lot, one drive in and out to both, the Townplace suites being behind the Courtyard. Small front parking lot, but courtyard does have parking below if you're lucky to grab. Small area to park, elevator takes you directly up to room or lobby.
Front desk staff were friendly, informed us of pool, and restaurant hours, parking garage, etc. room was ready when we arrived at 130.
We are on the 2nd floor, room 205, facing the pool, we have one of three balconies. Nice, large area but with the tall wall, no breeze or view unless you stand up! Two chairs and a table for relaxing.
Room has one king sized bed, a little on the hard side, desk, armoire , flat screen tv and a sofa bed. Small fridge, single coffee pot. Bathroom is large with tub/shower combo, towels are big and fluffy. Everything is new and the room still smells "just built", comforter and pillows plus towels still seem just out if the packages.
Pool was great, shared by both hotels, had a pool bar with food and drinks, cabanas (for rent) zero depth entry and a waterfall. Not enough shade, I feel the cabanas should not have been so pricey as they took up a lot of prime shade area! Music and disco lights at night, also comfy couches and a firepit.
Also a restaurant in the lobby, serves breakfast and dinner. Tried to have dinner the first night, but couldn't figure out what was gluten free on the menu so gave up and went else where. in the a.m. we had the coffee, it was very busy, the staff seemed very confused and it was very slow. .
The hotel is situated in an area of hotels and condos, kind of at the end of the beach area, you cross the street for the water, as are all the hotels on the Seawall. The only restaurant within walking distance is Jimmy's, a restaurant over the water which we went to for breakfast one of the mornings.
All in all, this hotel is nice, but I'd rather be closer in with the action, and I thought it was quite high priced for a courtyard, but maybe it's cheaper when it's not a holiday weekend. Will definitely check prices when coming back to the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was a great hotel from staff to rooms! Everything was clean, comfortable and very affordable! The pool was amazing! It was a little odd to see cows in the open area right outside, but the pool more than made up for it. We also dined in the little bistro and the food was great. The rooms were clean, beds very comfortable and you didn't hear noise from outside of the room or kids running up and down the hall! I will definitely be back next time we are in Galveston!

Room Tip: We had an oceanview room but next time I'll get a pool view! Much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location for families, moody gardens, go karts, mini golf etc right by the hotel, there is no beach with sand across the street so you have to drive a while which isn't really a problem, you can park right on the beach for free about a mile or two south. Now for the not so good, we arrived and I was hoping to get an upgrade to a suite which I was told I would get, when I got there the front desk ladies, although nice, really should not have been left alone, they really didn't know what they were doing and we got stuck in a tiny room for a family of 4, it worked, but I feel our stay could have been much better had the front desk been more knowledgable, when we finally got to the room (Waited an hour for the ladies to figure out how to put me in a different room) there was urine on the seat, a candy wrapper on the desk and the desk hadnt been cleaned in a while. We called and they promptly took care of it. Now for the good, the staff were on top of all requests, and treated everyone I saw very well, from the pool bar waitress to the front desk to the cleaning staff, they were all very nice and accommodating, the pool is great, and having a pool bar/restaurant was great, we would probably stay here again. We stayed in a king ocean view, the kids (6 and 2) fit fine in the sleeper sofa, we stayed on the first floor but the elevators seemed slow. This place is getting better and I would stay here again for a great rate!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front

Address: 9550 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.