We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Barbecue Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leon's World's Finest Barbeque

Leon's World's Finest Barbeque
5427 Broadway St Ste A, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4436
(409) 744-0070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 260 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Odessa, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Barbecue Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My boss had read about Leon's in Texas Monthly. We got there a little before the lunch rush. The location was not hard to find. Our server was awesome. She made us feel right at home. The smoke aroma was great. People in our party tried a little of everything. First, the sides were wonderful. The spicey rice was something I'd never had with barbecue before, but I'll definitely have again. All of the meats were great. The brisket was a little dry and tough, but the flavor was great. They did not have any of the jalapeno sausage in the beginning, but our server was sure to bring a sample by when the first link came of the pit. It was very tasty. My boss says the downtown link was the best sausage he had ever had. But, did I mention portions? All but two of our party left with a very full belly and leftovers. It was a great barbecue experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    28
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

After re-locating to Texas I have tried many BBQ places and Leon's is a Rock Star! The brisket is the best outside of Lockport, ya know what I'm sayin'! The service is what you expect at a BBQ. The place is clean and well lighted. But the food is as good as BBQ can get and worth the trip to Galveston.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Friendly but slow service the night we went”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very friendly and laid back. BBQ was on the sweet side, sides are standard fare. We are gluten free for health reasons, so most things on the menu were out for us. I don't think we'd return, but that is more due to the limited selection for us.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good bbque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Everything was very good, tasty ribs and brisket, stuffed baked potato was well worth the price and very filling...potato salad is very tasty..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great tasting BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had a large group of hungry teens. Great food and awesome service. Leon and his family made our group feel like special guests.

They had our table ready when we arrived. Fast service, large servings and awesome BBQ.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leon's World's Finest Barbeque also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Leon's World's Finest Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leon's World's Finest Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.