We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Barbecue Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leon's World's Finest Barbeque

Leon's World's Finest Barbeque
5427 Broadway St Ste A, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4436
(409) 744-0070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 289 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Barbecue Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My boss had read about Leon's in Texas Monthly. We got there a little before the lunch rush. The location was not hard to find. Our server was awesome. She made us feel right at home. The smoke aroma was great. People in our party tried a little of everything. First, the sides were wonderful. The spicey rice was something I'd never had with barbecue before, but I'll definitely have again. All of the meats were great. The brisket was a little dry and tough, but the flavor was great. They did not have any of the jalapeno sausage in the beginning, but our server was sure to bring a sample by when the first link came of the pit. It was very tasty. My boss says the downtown link was the best sausage he had ever had. But, did I mention portions? All but two of our party left with a very full belly and leftovers. It was a great barbecue experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

After re-locating to Texas I have tried many BBQ places and Leon's is a Rock Star! The brisket is the best outside of Lockport, ya know what I'm sayin'! The service is what you expect at a BBQ. The place is clean and well lighted. But the food is as good as BBQ can get and worth the trip to Galveston.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThomasWaters955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly but slow service the night we went”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very friendly and laid back. BBQ was on the sweet side, sides are standard fare. We are gluten free for health reasons, so most things on the menu were out for us. I don't think we'd return, but that is more due to the limited selection for us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good bbque”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Everything was very good, tasty ribs and brisket, stuffed baked potato was well worth the price and very filling...potato salad is very tasty..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ialwayseatout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great tasting BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had a large group of hungry teens. Great food and awesome service. Leon and his family made our group feel like special guests.

They had our table ready when we arrived. Fast service, large servings and awesome BBQ.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZuziSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leon's World's Finest Barbeque also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Leon's World's Finest Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing