We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Leon's World's Finest Barbeque

Leon's World's Finest Barbeque
5427 Broadway St Ste A, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4436
(409) 744-0070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 256 restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Lake Charles, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not good.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I read all the reviews so we decided to go there. The ribs were ok, not great but ok. The brisket was very, very salty and tough. A small side is miniscule. It did not live up to its reviews at all. I won't return. I had such high hopes and they were crushed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    44
    25
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended by hotel we were staying in (Candlewood Suite) so we tried it for dinner the ribs and Boudin were awesome my coworker had the fish platter and said it was very good. The dinner was so good we had to try them the next morning for breakfast the large breakfast bowl was excellent and had enough left over for lunch. Will be making this a regular stopping place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not that impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Not sure what the hype is all about....Leon is a nice guy to meet, very friendly, the servers are nice. But honestly, the food is not worth mentioning. Brisket was dry, ribs were not falling off the bone and the sauce was very watery and tasteless. To their credit the cole slaw was crisp, beer selection not bad, but that's about it. For us 12 Bones in Asheville, NC is still the front runner. Sorry, just wanted to be honest.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice family run business!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

It was fun to eat where the locals go and reasonable prices! The outside looks like a little old house but great service inside.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow! Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

After two mediocre meals in Galveston, we were about to throw in the towel until a couple was raving about the place so... We decided to go.

Did not regret our decision at all. The place is not much to look at but boy! was the food great! We had the ribs and North Carolina chopped pork, both were excellent. My son's girlfriend who's not into BBQ loved it. The corn bread was great too.

Got to meet Leon and had pictures with him to boot! Definitely an A+ in my book, will definitely be back for more food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leon's World's Finest Barbeque also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Leon's World's Finest Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leon's World's Finest Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.