We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast and dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leon's World's Finest Barbeque

Leon's World's Finest Barbeque
5427 Broadway St Ste A, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4436
(409) 744-0070
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #39 of 253 restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended by hotel we were staying in (Candlewood Suite) so we tried it for dinner the ribs and Boudin were awesome my coworker had the fish platter and said it was very good. The dinner was so good we had to try them the next morning for breakfast the large breakfast bowl was excellent and had enough left over for lunch. Will be making this a regular stopping place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    42
    24
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not that impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Not sure what the hype is all about....Leon is a nice guy to meet, very friendly, the servers are nice. But honestly, the food is not worth mentioning. Brisket was dry, ribs were not falling off the bone and the sauce was very watery and tasteless. To their credit the cole slaw was crisp, beer selection not bad, but that's about it. For us 12 Bones in Asheville, NC is still the front runner. Sorry, just wanted to be honest.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very nice family run business!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

It was fun to eat where the locals go and reasonable prices! The outside looks like a little old house but great service inside.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow! Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

After two mediocre meals in Galveston, we were about to throw in the towel until a couple was raving about the place so... We decided to go.

Did not regret our decision at all. The place is not much to look at but boy! was the food great! We had the ribs and North Carolina chopped pork, both were excellent. My son's girlfriend who's not into BBQ loved it. The corn bread was great too.

Got to meet Leon and had pictures with him to boot! Definitely an A+ in my book, will definitely be back for more food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Average-Don't Order Ribs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I ordered brisket, ribs, macaroni and cheese and potato salad to go. The brisket was tender and tasty. It was very salty as if it had been brined. The ribs were tough and hard to get the meat off the bone. Skip them for the brisket or sausage. The sides were forgettable - potatoes hard in the salad and the mac & cheese tasted like Kraft. The sauce was vinegar based and OK. We won't be going here again. Maybe it was an off day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leon's World's Finest Barbeque also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Leon's World's Finest Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leon's World's Finest Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.