We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little hole in the wall..but the food makes up for the atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leon's World's Finest Barbeque

Leon's World's Finest Barbeque
5427 Broadway St Ste A, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4436
(409) 744-0070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 257 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A little hole in the wall..but the food makes up for the atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Found this restutanta on trip advisor and decided to give it a try. Glad we did. The food was excellent. A family owned restutanta, Leon's been in business for 27 years. Came around and spoke to all of us. Huge portion sizes and price was great. We all (party of 7) all left very full and not a scrap left. A must eat at place in Galveston!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    45
    27
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow, a hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Wanted a true BBQ experience (don't have it where we live). The place didn't look like much from outside but we were welcomed inside and the food exceeded expectation. Low on the ambience but high on the quality.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great meat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Read about Leon's on tripadvisor and had to visit.
As folks have said before, the restaurant is very basic but the food isn't!

A very friendly waitress help us order as I was with my wife and 2 kids so wasn't sure how much to order.

We ordered 3 meats (which I can't believe can be for one person!) and 1 meat.
Therefore we had brisket, ribs, chicken and sausage. Sides of coleslaw, spicy rice, potato salad (my favourite).

The meats were stunning, full of flavour.

All was eaten!

Total bill inc tip $35....great value.

Loads of people were in for takeouts.

As everyone has said,if you eat in, don't expect The Ritz and you'll love the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stopped in here for some dinner, only to find them closed. Leon saw us outside, reopened the restaurant and served my family of five a delicious dinner. The staff was very friendly, even though we were keeping them from home. We will try this place again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super food and people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Leon's place is the spot for great BBQ served by good folks. This is not a fancy restaurant. You'll sit in a small dining room in close proximity to the heating and A/C units. If you are interested in fantastic BBQ, this is a great choice. We celebrated our son's 18th B-day at Leon's. He really enjoyed the food and they even treated him with rum cake for dessert!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leon's World's Finest Barbeque also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Leon's World's Finest Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leon's World's Finest Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.