We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leon's World's Finest Barbeque

Leon's World's Finest Barbeque
5427 Broadway St Ste A, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-4436
(409) 744-0070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 254 restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great meat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Read about Leon's on tripadvisor and had to visit.
As folks have said before, the restaurant is very basic but the food isn't!

A very friendly waitress help us order as I was with my wife and 2 kids so wasn't sure how much to order.

We ordered 3 meats (which I can't believe can be for one person!) and 1 meat.
Therefore we had brisket, ribs, chicken and sausage. Sides of coleslaw, spicy rice, potato salad (my favourite).

The meats were stunning, full of flavour.

All was eaten!

Total bill inc tip $35....great value.

Loads of people were in for takeouts.

As everyone has said,if you eat in, don't expect The Ritz and you'll love the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    44
    25
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ridgway, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stopped in here for some dinner, only to find them closed. Leon saw us outside, reopened the restaurant and served my family of five a delicious dinner. The staff was very friendly, even though we were keeping them from home. We will try this place again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super food and people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Leon's place is the spot for great BBQ served by good folks. This is not a fancy restaurant. You'll sit in a small dining room in close proximity to the heating and A/C units. If you are interested in fantastic BBQ, this is a great choice. We celebrated our son's 18th B-day at Leon's. He really enjoyed the food and they even treated him with rum cake for dessert!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do NOT Miss!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Do not miss this place!! If your looking for a fancy place with white tableclothes, look elsewhere, if you want the best dang BBQ you've ever ate this is for you!! We ate the 3 meat platter. We chose ribs, brisket, and chicken. The ribs were to die for!! The brisket was fantastic!! Everything was so good including the sides. We was eating our meal and discussing how wonderful it was and Leon came out and checked on us and the other customers!! He was so nice!! Wow, DON'T miss out!!! Tripadvisor rates it #3 best restuarant in a seafood town, that should tell you something!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“It's Risky To Eat Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you've eaten bar-b-que most anywhere else in Texas, not the plastic tasting places like Goode Company in Houston, Texas, it's risky to eat here. Anyone who is a bar-b-que connoisseur could only walk away hating this place because it's so damn good and the portions ample, and impossible or almost impossible to duplicate. Not to mention a great value. There are a lot of reviews on Leon's, none of them lousy but so many good ones you'd think it could be a conspiracy to praise it so much. But damn it...the reviews are on target. They cook their meat on a wood-burning pit out back. The sause is a secret and delicious. The service is first rate for a small bar-b-que joint. And they'll even deliver to your room in a Galveston hotel. It's no wonder Leon, a/kj/a Dr. Bar-B-Que drives a big white Cadillac with a magnetic sign advertising his restaurant on it. Problem is places like this really never survive their creators and once Leon's gone.....well that'll be curtains. Galveston has a few very good places to eat seafood like Shrimp and Stuff but only one place in the entire region to eat bar-b-que prepared this way. Swear to ***.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leon's World's Finest Barbeque also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Leon's World's Finest Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leon's World's Finest Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.