We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local spot that is not super expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Mexican Cafe

Original Mexican Cafe
1401 Market St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-2532
409-762-6001
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 241 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Local spot that is not super expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Plain and simple this is a local spot that is off the strand that will not bust your budget. Located in an old neighborhood in an old building, this place screams Galveston. It was packed on the night we went and the experience was very nice. I was super tired after being at the beach all day, so I cannot speak to the margaritas, but the food was tasty and above average.

My only complaint is that the service was spotty. My group of 16 was split into 2 tables and one of the tables got the good waiter and my table got the bad waiter. One group was happy and full, while the other was frustrated and hungry.

The most pleasant part of the night was my $30 bill for myself, my wife, and 2 children. That makes me smile anytime. I would go here again and I recommend you do the same if looking for a local taste of Galveston. It may be a little touristy, but you wont bust your budget going there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    113
    49
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I REALLY wanted to like this place but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I just didn't. I ordered nachos. How hard is it to screw up nachos? They were soggy, had more refried beans then they did meat and cheese, about 5 jalapeno slices and that's about it. The two other people I was with all had the same experience with their meals. None of us would go back nor recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Meal...Awesome Price!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went to the original on the advice of a local it wasn't on the strip, but so worth it. The service was excellent, the selection good and the food was incredible.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Can you say taco?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just a wonderful place to enjoy some Mexican food with a beer or spirit or even a coke. My wife and myself can dine here for as little as $15.00. We really enjoy the Queso cheese which seems to have the right amount of spice and is nice and creamy. I really enjoy the enchiladas with the beef and chili sauce. The service is good with plenty of chips and salsa. A must try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good place for Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We ate here late on a Friday night. Liked the atmosphere and the wait staff was attentive. We all ordered different dishes and all were good. Chicken flautas and fajitas were good. Also liked the salsa and chips, the salsa had a good flavor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Mexican Cafe also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Original Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Mexican Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.