We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican take-out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga Coastal Cantina

Tortuga Coastal Cantina
6010 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5890
409-741-5000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 254 restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Huntington, West Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Mexican take-out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were in Galveston with our dog so we had take-out from this restaurant. We looked at the menu online and called with our order. The food was ready in 10 minutes and it came with chips and salsa! My husband had fajitas and I had the fajita burrito. Everything was great except that my husband had no lettuce or tomatoes for his fajitas.
We would definitely eat here again next time we visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    81
    95
    35
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meeker, Oklahoma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AWESOME FOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The food was AWESOME! I had enchiladas and my husband had beef chimichanga. We also ordered guacamole tableside..it was really good.....I wished I had told her few or no tomatoes...but it was still good...we actually put some in the salsa and mixed together! That was TASTY!! Service was great as well. Would recommend this restaurant and we will go back if we are in the Galveston area again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great food and drink and just outside the front door of the hotel. You can drink as much as you like then just walk back to your room No DUI here.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food was Bland & Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I had a craving for TexMex all day and went here on a recomendation from a worker at Pleasure Pier. I was quite disappointed. The Enchiladas were terrible. Kids Quesadilla was worse than I can make at home, and her corn on the cob was tastless mush. It had probably been soaking in water for hours.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good appetizers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This cantina was pretty good. The server recommended the steak fajita nachos. They were good with an ice cold Corona.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortuga Coastal Cantina also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Tortuga Coastal Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga Coastal Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.