We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and atmosphere!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar

Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar
2107 Postoffice Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
(409)744-8626
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 263 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and atmosphere!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Wonderful food and atmosphere off the beaten path. My husband and I shared a "small" bowl of seafood gumbo and the bowls were not small at all. We also shared the BBQ oysters and shrimp. Our favorite was the gumbo and oysters. The service and atmosphere were both over the top. We are both so glad that we tried this restaurant and we will return on our next trip to Galveston!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    88
    34
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sumner, Washington
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“good gumbo large servings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

enjoyed lunch had seafood gumbo & garlic bread made for a great lunch after a city tour & downtown walk.
Tip..had a small bowl very large servings.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Beer selection and excellent gumbo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This little place in the town center has a fantastic selection of Texas beers. They also make an amazing gumbo with a deep, rich roux. I had the chicken and sausage, and could only have been happier with more.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Amazing Gumbo!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Just delicious Gumbo, cooked right in front of you. We also had steamed seafood in a white wine and garlic sauce! It was an unique experience for someone that's just at their first Gumbo. I've tasted Gumbo in many other places, but never liked it enough to order some myself. Here it was better than anywhere else. I recommend this place to anyone looking for the famous Southern food experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Okay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

A long wait to get a table, then a long wait for the food. I just plain didn't like the food but perhaps maybe I don't like dark gumbo.I enjoy light gumbos. This was almost black and lots of saffron. The sausage was not tasty and I couldn't finish my bowl. Service was extremely slow.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.