We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Officially our go-to place for when we travel here from out of town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yamato Japanese Restaurant

Yamato Japanese Restaurant
2104 61ST St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-1403
(409) 744-2742
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 254 restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $0 - $36
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Roanoke
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Officially our go-to place for when we travel here from out of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My fiance and I had a fantastic time! We got a tip to head here from a local who recommended it, and we are so glad we went! The staff was incredibly friendly and we had the best experience with one of the sushi chefs. The sushi dishes were beautifully presented and tasted fantastic. We got to talking with the chef and he introduced us to some AMAZING fresh fish that he recommended from Japan, and gave us some insight to his profession and had some great stories! Honestly we regretted having to head back home because we had such a great time at Yamotos. Thank you Mr. L for diversifying our palate and appreciation for such a great art!! We will be back!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    18
    17
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galveston Island, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good show, good servers, and a great place for a party!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Sake Bombs! Can get pricey when the sake bombs are thrown in, but its worth it with a group of friends. Great food prepared right in front of you by an entertaining, great chef!
Sushi is great, but I usually go with the Chicken and Beef combo dinner!

YUM!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

A little pricey but worth it. Had some sushi, chicken, steak, shrimp and fried rice. All was very good. Will be making trip again do to rain out. Will try to get back there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We enjoyed Yamato atmosphere and their delicious sushi, though the prices are a little expensive. The restaurant has been in Galveston a long time, as others have come and gone.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good sushi and a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

For being a sushi place in a tourist type location, I was really impressed with the price of the food. I decided to experiment and try some sushi I hadn't had before, so I can't compare the individual sushi against other restaurants. The wait staff were very friendly though, and answered any questions I had. The Kamikaze rolls was surprisingly good for being so cheap. The Rainbow Roll was only okay, but having never had it before it could easily be that it was just too fishy for me.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamato Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Yamato Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yamato Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.