We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Gulf Shrimp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant

Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant
39th Blvd & O Ave, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-6689
409-763-2805
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 261 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Gulf Shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We found out that the locals like to eat at this "hidden on the back streets" eatery and, boy, was it worth finding. Best fried gulf shrimp in town. The cole slaw was absolutely delicious and they make their own tarter sauce, which is not the sweet junk that eateries usually hand out. If you want the best "FRESH" fried gulf shrimp - go to Shrimp & Stuff.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    205
    61
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eunice, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value clean place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Have to read my entire review to understand.If your one of the few with a digestive track as me .....i love popeyes chicken but in my body its a laxative .and this food is the same ..its great ,good value food, good clean atmosphere.2 out of 4 in my party had results as i get.Again other 2 people in my party was ok but then again popeyes chicken does not affect them.This place very easy access 39th street from seawall and look at each crossing road to ave O its on corner lots of parking .

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Proverbial Hole-in-the-Wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is one of those places that is not in the main tourist area. One has to have a vehicle to get to it although it is not too far from the main drag. You walk in, order at the counter, sit down, they give you a pager for when your food is ready. The locals definitely frequent this place. It can get very busy. Very fast service. It couldn't have been more than 4 or 5 minutes after placing our order that the pager went off.

The menu is predominantly seafood with some non-seafood items on it. A lot of fried seafoods are available although non-fried are also on the rather extensive menu.

You can sit inside and eat or you can go outside to the covered area. The food was very good. Certainly not 5 star but it would rate a return trip when returning to Galveston.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Instead of fast food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Good place to get a quick meal, the shrimp and oyster po'boy was good. I highly recommend then eating at a fast food joint. Support the local

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A Galveston tradition”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

It may not be the best seafood you'll ever eat and its definitely not pretentious but this is a place locals have been going for too many years to count for basics like shrimp po boys.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.