We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss while in Galveston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant

Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant
39th Blvd & O Ave, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-6689
409-763-2805
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 263 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Douglaston, New York
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Don't miss while in Galveston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had a lovely lunch while in Galveston. Very large portion, delicious not heavy breading on shrimps. Great gumbo. Simple casual restaurant with great prices.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    205
    61
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This is a must for your Galveston trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Shrimp n Stuff is a family restaurant that serves fresh delicious food in a friendly atmosphere. The gumbo is almost as good as Sonny's and the fish is fresh. Don't miss the spicy boiled potatoes.
Our grandchildren insist on eating here when they visit us.
Best iced tea on the island.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Just OK. Not outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Recently had lunch after a several year hiatus. Stood in line and placed my order for the fried shrimp. The portion I ordered wad ample but nothing about the meal was outstanding. French fries were standard dreary Sysco frozen issue. The hushpuppies were tastless. The shrimp just average. I don't understand the popularity of this place but it is popular and lines form at the door. That said, you will not leave hungry and the price is fair. Off street parking is nice and the people are friendly. I will not return soon as there are other seafood places I prefer on this island. Try this place if you wish. You will not be cheated and perhaps you will find the food more to your liking. It is obvious many do.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best fried seafood but not the cheapest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The employees act like they hate their jobs, the place is dingy and we can never seem to get out cheap, but for fried seafood I haven't had better on the island. The gumbo can compete with the best out there and the fish tacos are definitely worth a try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
“Quick and Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very clean, good service and good food. Will be back. Loved the boudin balls. Reasonably priced too.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.