We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant

Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant
39th Blvd & O Ave, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-6689
409-763-2805
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 241 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Henderson, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and great prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

One of my favorites on Galveston island! Great fish as well as shrimp in a neat part of town. Always lots of locals which speaks good of any restaurant. Plan to go everytime I get a little beach time! Very reasonably priced

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    224
    68
    25
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good food; so relaxed you can go straight from the beach and never miss a beat. Eat outside or in. Good value. A local hangout without the big prices.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular local food eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family and I asked the hotel staff where to eat for dinner, and the place they quickly mentioned was this local restaurant. Wasn't too sure what we'd expect but we thoroughly enjoyed the food and even ordered more based on the quality. We ordered almost a bit of everything and everything was done well, especially the shrimp and fish tacos.

Don't judge the quality of the food by the outside appearance of the restaurant...cuz the food was great!! People inside the restaurant were also pleasant and helpful. If we're ever back to Galveston, we'll be sure to make a stop here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Terrific island town economical eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I'm not one to go a restaurant named "shrimp and stuff" and then bust its chops for serving so-so chicken. So lets focus on their name sake- shrimp and seafood. I decided to make my own platter with two entrees of my choice, and got crab balls and coconut shrimp. Table mates also shared stuffed shrimp and onion rings. Substituting sweet potato fries for standard fries was as easy as a request and no added cost. Point one- 5 stars for value, you stand in line and order then pick up, and you serve your own drinks. If this is what it takes to get great food for dirty cheap, it's alright by me! Second, nothing was fried too death, an all too common mistake. Coconut shrimp were excellent and served with a honey butter sauce that was perfect. Crab balls were creamy inside with crunchy fry batter. Sweet potato fries were onviously freshly made and addictive. Gumbo was 5 star unless you've had my husband's- part of the reason was that roux was not cooked to optimal darkness. Shrimp tacos were full and succulent. Sides of hush puppies and cole slaw were a tick above average. Little dinner roll was great for sopping up left over honey/butter sauce. You can eat outside or in main diningroom or a newer adjunct party room which is what we choose. Nice cool AC! So, a nice casual place for a visiting family unless your kiddo won't consider fish of any kind. So get PO-boys to go, then go back to your seaside house, make PBJ sandwiches for the kids, zap your poboys in the microwave, crack open a can of Dixie, and eat well!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Late Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Got into town late stopped for dinner. We both had fried shrimp which was fresh and enjoyable. The fries were frozen but well cooked. Hush puppies were a bit mealie but had a kick to them. The cocktail sauce and tarter sauce were so so. Over all okay and priced right.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.