We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishy Tales” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Tales

Fish Tales
2502 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-7956
(409) 762-8545
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 263 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fishy Tales”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have eaten here before on trips to Galveston for our cruises, so figured the kids would enjoy it too. Frankly, we were disappointed in 4/5ths of meals and 100% of the service. The amount of food was not as advertised on the menu, but the quality was okay. Only one of the dishes we ordered came out as expected and my daughter just raved about it. Made us wish we had ordered the same thing (seafood pasta dish in alfredo sauce). Drinks were not refilled timely, staff was in training with new members and didn't seem to have time for the guests. For a place that is usually good, we were disappointed. Next time we will try somewhere else.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    180
    113
    53
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

The food was very good and the service was great. The only thing was our waiter did not validate our parking ticket and ended up paying $10 for parking.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I'm one to rave about great service because even with the food being mediocre at best, fantastic service will keep you coming back. My boyfriend and I went to galveston last week for a couple of days and this was our first meal while there. We initially were going to go to Bubba Gump across the street but decided last minute to try Fish Tales. I can't say much about the host/hostess staff but once we were seated, our server was awesome. We order hush puppies for an appetizer which were really good I must add. Our server's name was Dustin. He gave us an extra sauce with our hush puppies that he gives to "his" tables because he said it tastes good with the hush puppies. He was right on! We even ordered some more of that sauce to go with our meal. I ordered calamari as an entree and my boyfriend ordered a bacon cheeseburger. The calamari was decent, nothing to write home about and his burger was just okay as well. My boyfriend had ordered a tea with his meal and drank it all and didn't care to have another. However, Dustin brought him some water anyway later on because he said he "couldn't stand to see his glass empty". To me, he went out of his way even after my boyfriend said he was okay without another tea. Overall, the service was a 5/5...the food...eh you could get the quality for much cheaper somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too pricy for quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We ate lunch here our first day in Galveston. It took a very long time to get our food and it's very overpriced! Food was not great either. I would suggest eating somewhere else!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The food was okay, not spectacular. It was a bit pricy and we had to pay $10 to park for 1 hour. The service was quick and the staff was nice.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Tales also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Fish Tales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Tales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.