We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Tales

Fish Tales
2502 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-7956
(409) 762-8545
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 241 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The food is very, very average. I would say on par with a Landry's, so nothing to write home about. I also felt it a bit overpriced. For two adults and 2 kids it was over $70 and we only had soft drinks. The restaurant has a some good character, great service and a good view of the beach and Pleasure Pier. Too bad the food detracts from the atmosphere. One plus is that they do offer a $10 voucher toward parking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    208
    120
    60
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the price!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

The food was average for the price..and not much variety...the only good thing is the location...it's right across pleasure pier..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not so hot for take out”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We decided to take our order back to the hotel. Shrimp kisses may have been better fresh out of kitchen, but they weren't bad. We were disappointed there didn't seem to be jalapeno inside and they could have used the kick. Gumbo was bland, poorly seasoned and tasteless. The cobb salad was drenched in dressing and the lettuce wilted, but the toppings were good. I ate the toppings and left the rest. The bar looks fun and the view is great, so might go back for cocktails.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Can't beat the view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Fish Tales. It is directly across from the pier with the amuzement park where there is never a dull moment. My husband enjoyed his seafood and since I don't care for it, I got the pulled pork...absolutely delicious! We will be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not worth the price for dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Good spot to stop for a drink if you can sit upstairs. Food is average and overpriced so skip it for family dinner time.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Tales also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Fish Tales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Tales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.