We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mosquito Cafe

Mosquito Cafe
628 14th St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550
(409) 763-1010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 265 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Cottage Grove, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the variety of food at this cafe. Very good quality at a decent price, only draw back is it's very very crowded for breakfast.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, General Manager at Mosquito Cafe, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for your business! Our breakfast is definitely popular, we do our best to have extra staff on hand to make sure that all of our guests are getting the best attention possible. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to Galveston!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    172
    44
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Channelview
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Meeting with a Friend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have been here serveral times and always a great lunch. Keep up the great food. Little more expensive but health chooses and work the price.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, General Manager at Mosquito Cafe, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We take a lot of pride in providing fresh premium ingredients and preparing them in a healthier manner (not frying anything). Our prices reflect the quality of the fresh premium ingredients that we use because we feel that our guests deserve the best. Thank you for the compliments and we look forward to your visits for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fresh fresh lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to TA reviews, we had a delicious meal in Mosquito Cafe's lovely courtyard. My husband had a huge goat cheese and fig salad with romaine lettuce and I had the Veggie Schroom with a giant portabello and other fresh veggies on locally baked bread. We finished off with a home-baked gluten free cookie. Highly recommend looking up this charming lunch spot in historic downtown.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, General Manager at Mosquito Cafe, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We truly appreciate your business and love the fact that you had an excellent dining experience with us! We look forward to seeing you in the cafe again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Some of the best OJ I ever had and the food was outstanding. Breakfast bowl was phenomenal. Can't wait to visit the island again this will be a must stop

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, General Manager at Mosquito Cafe, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We truly appreciate your input and your business. We hand pick a majority of our ingredients to make sure that we are providing premium quality to our guests because well you deserve it. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Hearty, Healthy & Intrigued!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

What a great lunch! My turkey chili bowl (with a scoop of corn bread) on top was perfect, so was the warm goat cheese salad (with sun-dried tomato, figs and pine nuts) - fresh, complex and well executed. There were so many other choices I wanted to try. Menu was full of contemporary dishes that one only sees in upscale restaurants in New York City, London or Paris; and some even with a southwestern twist. Slightly pricy for a counter order service, but it was worth it. Wonderful folks. I got there 5 minutes before lunch hours, and the guy made sure that I felt at home for the short wait.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, General Manager at Mosquito Cafe, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! We take a lot of pride in providing premium ingredients in very eclectic entrees. We provide a culinary adventure in a casual relaxed atmosphere. We hope to see you again on your next visit to our "Paradise Island".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosquito Cafe also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Mosquito Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mosquito Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.