We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saltwater Grill

Saltwater Grill
2017 Post Office St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-2021
409-762-3474
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Saltwater Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 241 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: American, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 21st Street
Description: The Saltwater Grill is located just steps away from The Grand 1894 Opera House. Featuring an array of tantalizing fresh-from-the-grill and fresh-from-the-kettle seafood specialties, Saltwater Grill is in a class of its own when it comes to quality and attention to detail.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We found another great seafood joint on our Galveston trip! I feel the price listed out here is a little high and so we thought this place would be alot fancier than it was. Our entrees were 20-25. I had a wonderfully rich lobster risotto. My husband's red fish ponchartrain was well done, but he wasn't super impressed. Our cute Russian waitress was great. We called and got a reservation, but upon arrival realized it was unnecessary for a Tuesday night. Overall, another nice Galveston seafood experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    70
    28
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

To drink I had sweet tea and it was never empty.to eat I had the pasta and scallops. There scallops are some of the best scallops I have ever had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great seafood, service - not so much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you plan on going on a Friday or Saturday night, I recommend you make reservations during the summer. We were lucky to get a table at the last minute without reservations. It was crowded at 6:30 PM. The food was very good but our server needed a personality. I don't think everyone is like that since I noticed other servers in pleasant conversation with the customers.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Shrimp!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We went here on the recommendation of a friend and we really enjoyed it. I had the shrimp appetizer which had 6 large shrimps and the apple cider salad, both were delicious. The other 2 people in my group also enjoyed their meals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas, Usa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good choice in Galveston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went on a Sunday evening, when Galveston itself (away from the beach) is pretty quiet. It doesn't have quite the same reputation and quality as Rudy & Pacos across the street, but it is also quite a bit less expensive and slightly less formal. The food is more in an Asian style, particularly the seafood. We liked the place, and would go again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltwater Grill also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Saltwater Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltwater Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.